Lil Wayne, T-Pain Win Big At Ozone Awards

MCs each win three awards; Khaled, Polow Da Don take home two.

MIAMI — Lil Wayne and T-Pain were the big winners Monday night at the second annual Ozone Awards held at the James L. Knight Center in downtown Miami. The New Orleans rapper and the Tallahassee, Florida, singer each claimed three trophies, including Wayne's repeat win for Best Lyricist and T-Pain notching the esteemed TJ's DJ's Hustler Award.

"It's only one thing I want to say to a lot of people," T-Pain said when he took the stage to accept the Hustler award. "Told you!"

The two were also involved in some of the night's best performances. Throughout the show, they both took to the stage multiple times.

Wayne kick-started the festivities as part of DJ Khaled's all-star cast — which included Baby, Rick Ross and Fat Joe — for "We Takin' Over," while T-Pain popped up with Ross, Plies and Trick Daddy for "I'm So Hood."

(See snaps of Plies, Rick Ross, Lloyd and more at the second annual Ozone Awards.)

Later on, Wayne closed the show, bookending the event and cementing his status as the top gun in the game right now.

"You might know me as Weezy," Wayne told the crowd after his show-closing performance. "But I changed my name to hip-hop."

And it was hard to argue with the MTV News hip-hop brain trust's Hottest MC in the Game. (See "Hottest MCs In The Game") First Lloyd joined him onstage and the duo performed their hit collabo, "You." Then Cash Money signee and Florida favorite Brisco rapped along with Wayne, before Birdman came out to rap his new track, "Championship Pop Bottles." Wayne also brought out Playaz Circle, who performed their Weezy-featuring underground anthem, "Duffle Bag Boyz."

T-Pain has made good lately by helping out a ton of acts like Plies, R. Kelly and Bow Wow. But his biggest assist came during Monday night's set when he brought Atlanta upstart DG Yola onstage. The young rapper tried to crash the stage to perform earlier in the evening, but his microphone and music were cut off almost immediately by production and security, drawing boos and chants from crowd. But T-Pain brought him out later to a raucous ovation, and Yola, who told the crowd it was his birthday, didn't disappoint with his track.

Polow Da Don and Khaled were the night's other big winners, as the producer and the DJ snagged two awards a piece. Polow won for Best Producer, and he and Rich Boy grabbed Club Banger of the Year with "Throw Some D's." Khaled took home a trophy for Best Radio DJ, and he and director Gil Green shared the Best Video award for "We Takin' Over."

Other performances included Young Jeezy with U.S.D.A.; Foxx, Lil' Boosie and Webbie, who performed "Wipe Me Down"; Plies and Shop Boyz; and back-to-back sets by Mr. Collipark signees Hurricane Chris and Soulja Boy. (Chris also received a Patiently Waiting award, which are given out to regional artists on the verge of breaking.)

Comedian and Ozone magazine columnist Roland "Lil Duval" Powell hosted the event, which is set to air Labor Day weekend on MTV Jams.

The show capped the TJ's DJ's Tastemakers Only DJ/ Music Conference weekend, which included a series of panels and discussions with various music industry executives and insiders. Khaled and Miami Heat spinner Irie spoke on a DJ panel, while Pitbull, Lil Scrappy, and Trey Songz spoke on the artist panel.

Complete List Of Winners:

Best Rap Album: Young Jeezy, The Inspiration

Best Rap Artist (Male): Lil Wayne

Best Rap Artist (Female): Diamond and Princess of Crime Mob

Best Rap Group: UGK

Best Lyricist: Lil Wayne

Breakthrough Artist: Lil' Boosie

TJ's DJ's Hustler Award: T-Pain

TJ's DJ's Tastemaker Award: Rick Ross

Best Video: DJ Khaled, "We Takin' Over" (directed by Gil Green)

Best Rap/R&B Collaboration: Plies, "Shawty" (featuring T-Pain)

Club Banger of the Year: Rich Boy, "Throw Some D's" (featuring Polow Da Don)

Mixtape Monster Award: Lil Wayne

Most Slept-On Artist: Devin the Dude

Best Producer: Polow Da Don

Best R&B Album: Akon, Konvicted

Best R&B Artist (Male): T-Pain

Best R&B Artist (Female): Ciara

Best Mixtape DJ: DJ Drama

Best Radio DJ: DJ Khaled

Best Club DJ: DJ Q45

Best Mixtape/Street Album: Killer Mike, I Pledge Allegiance to the Grind

Patiently Waiting Awards

Alabama: B.A. Boys

Carolinas: Lil Ru

Florida: Sean Kingston

Georgia: Gorilla Zoe

Kentucky: G-Mack

Louisiana: Hurricane Chris

Mississippi: Soulja Boy

Tennessee: Kia Shine

Texas: Tum Tum

Ozone West Coast Awards

Best Rap Album, West Coast: The Game, Doctor's Advocate

Patiently Waiting California: Mistah F.A.B.

Seen a great show? MTV News wants your photos, videos and reports from all the latest concerts for our new You R Here community. Check out the site to read, rate and comment on reviews from around the globe. We'll put the best stuff on our You R Here blog, and even in on-air news!