Thom Yorke Records Album Without Radiohead, Rejects 'Solo' Label

'I have been itching to do something like this for ages,' Yorke says of The Eraser, due July 11.

Radiohead won't have an album in stores until 2007, but fans don't have to wait that long to hear new music from the band's frontman. Thom Yorke has just announced plans to release a record of his own ... just don't call it a solo record.

Rather, call it The Eraser, a collection of nine songs penned by Yorke and produced and arranged by frequent Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich. It's due in stores July 11, and, no, it does not signify some sort of rift within the hallowed halls of Radiohead.

"Yes, it's a record. No, it's not a Radiohead record. As you know, the band are now touring and writing new stuff and getting to a good space, so I want no crap about me being a traitor or splitting up or whatever," Yorke said in a statement. "This was all done with their blessing, and I don't wanna hear that word 'solo.' Doesn't sound right. The elements have been kicking around now for a few years and needed to be finished. I have been itching to do something like this for ages."

According to Yorke, the songs on The Eraser are "more beats and electronics, but [still] songs," and the album will feature artwork by his good friend, artist Stanley Donwood — the man behind much of Radiohead's album art since 1994. Yorke has even launched a spooky new Web site,, to promote the project, though there is no mention of a possible solo tour.

That's probably because Radiohead are currently on tour in Europe, which they will follow with a month of theater gigs in North America (see "Radiohead Line Up Summer Tour To Road-Test New Music"). And once that tour is wrapped, Radiohead will return to the studio with producer Mark "Spike" Stent, to continue work on their still-untitled seventh studio album.

Track list for The Eraser, according to a spokesperson for Yorke:

  • "The Eraser"
  • "Analyse"
  • "The Clock"
  • "Black Swan"
  • "Skip Divided"
  • "Atoms For Peace"
  • "And It Rained All Night"
  • "Harrowdown Hill"
  • "Cymbal Rush"