JC Chasez Promises Next Solo Outing Will Be Less Schizophrenic

'NSYNC singer has been working with Timbaland, others on 'pop-alternative' LP.

HOLLYWOOD — If JC Chasez's first solo album left you feeling a bit confused (hey, man, it was called Schizophrenic), you weren't alone. But the 'NSYNC frontman is planning to tighten the ropes a bit for his sophomore LP.

"This one is going to be a little more pop-alternative," Chasez said recently. "The last one had a pretty broad spectrum, so this time I'm gonna give people more of a journey in the same direction."

The singer has been holed up in a recording studio for a good part of the year recording the follow-up to his 2004 debut, which spawned the singles "Some Girls (Dance With Women)," "All Day Long I Dream About Sex" and the heart-tugging ballad "Build My World."

While Chasez has yet to determine which tracks will make the final cut, he says this is a project he is "really proud of."

"There's one song I wrote called 'Satellite' that's very metaphorical," he said. "It's about two people being out of reach, just orbiting each other."

The 29-year-old has been working with an assorted group of beatmakers from coast to coast to produce the project. So far, Chasez has hit the studio with Jimmy Harry (Kelly Clarkson, Britney Spears) in Los Angeles, David Maurice (U2, Madonna) in New York and Timbaland (Missy Elliott, Brandy) in Miami, where the odd couple laid down the uptempo track "Fire."

"I really respect Timbaland's opinion and his take on music," the singer said. "He's a very talented guy and real quiet — at least until you get into the recording studio with him!"

Chasez has yet to title the LP. "I have a couple ideas kicking around in my head, but I'm not sure," he said. "Once I'm done writing, then I'll decide."

You can expect the first single to drop by the end of this year, Chasez said, with the full record out by early 2006.

And despite claims by bandmate Lance Bass that more 'NSYNC music is on the way (see "Will 'NSYNC Go All Backstreet Boys On Us? Lance Says Yes, Joey's Less Sure"), Chasez says the group has no plans to record at the moment. 'NSYNC's only collaboration will be to continue their annual charity event, Challenge for the Children, to raise money for a variety of causes.

But all is not lost for fans of the boy band, which once claimed worldwide domination, selling more than 42 million records internationally. The group's label, Jive Records, plans to release an 11-track compilation disc filled with 'NSYNC's chart-topping singles. 'NSYNC's Greatest Hits is slated to hit stores October 25.

Track list for the album, according to Jive Records:

  • "Bye Bye Bye"
  • "Girlfriend" (featuring Nelly)
  • "This I Promise You"
  • "It's Gonna Be Me"
  • "God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You"
  • "I Want You Back"
  • "Pop"
  • "Gone"
  • "Tearin' Up My Heart"
  • "I Drive Myself Crazy"
  • "I'll Never Stop"
  • "Music of My Heart" (featuring Gloria Estefan)