Kanye, Fabolous, Twista Make 'Coach Carter' Soundtrack A Slam Dunk

Album is due January 11, three days before film.

With new tracks from Twista, Kanye West, Fabolous, the Game and Chingy, the soundtrack to "Coach Carter" is set to score with hip-hop and R&B fans.

The 14-song LP, due January 11, also boasts a few collaborations that promise to be as successful as a well-executed pick-and-roll. Chicago's in the house on the three-way joint "Wouldn't You Like to Ride," which finds West sharing the mic with Common and spoken-word poet Malik Yusef on a track that first surfaced as a 12" single last year. MC du jour the Game gets an assist from crunk ambassador Lil Scrappy on "Southside," while Twista and diva Faith Evans create a formidable duo on "Hope," which serves as the soundtrack's first single.

"Hope" is expected to begin surfacing at radio next week. A video, directed by Chris Robinson (Alicia Keys, Jay-Z), is due to appear closer to the album's release.

"All Night Long," by Brooklyn rapper Red Café, is set to be the second single, due in January. Other soundtrack highlights include tracks by Van Hunt, Mack 10 and the St. Lunatics.

Starring Samuel L. Jackson, "Coach Carter" profiles the life of high school basketball coach Ken Carter, who made national headlines in 1999 for benching his entire undefeated team because of poor grades. R&B singer Ashanti, in her feature film debut (see "Ashanti 'Brings It' In 'Coach Carter,' Co-Stars Say"), plays Kyra, a pregnant girlfriend of one of the players. The film hits theaters January 14.

"Coach Carter" track list, according to Capitol Records:


  • Red Café - "All Night Long"

  • Fabolous (featuring Mike Shorey) - "No Need for Conversation"

  • Chingy (featuring GIB) - "Professional"

  • The Game (featuring Lil Scrappy) - "Southside"

  • Ciara - "Roll Wit You"

  • Kanye West, Malik Usef & Common - "Wouldn't You Like to Ride"

  • Twista (featuring Faith Evans) - "Hope"

  • Van Hunt - "Your Love"

  • Ak'sent - "This One"

  • Czarnok - "Beauty Queen"

  • Mack 10 (featuring Da Hood) - "Balla"

  • St. Lunatics - "Time"

  • Letoya - "What Love Can Do" -

  • Trey Songz - "About the Game"