Nas Salutes The Ladies, Past And Present, On Upcoming LP

Street's Disciple also pays homage to his father and Rakim.

Few men would have the courage to recall their past sexual exploits with their fiancee, let alone record it for mass consumption. But that's just one of the many topics Nas touches on with his forthcoming album, Street's Disciple.

On "Remember the Times," Nas chronicles many a sexual exploit with vivid detail to a vintage R&B sample from Carol Douglas' "We Do It." The song is preceded by an intro on which Nas' fiancee, Kelis, asks him: "So you can't think of anybody in your past, your dirty, dark past, who, if I gave you a free pass, you wouldn't want to do them one last time?"

While Nas relishes in those memories, they appear to be just that, as he also crafts tracks like the romantic "Getting Married" on which he narrates their future wedding nuptials to a Chucky Thompson track that features a sample of Isaac Hayes' "Ike's Mood 1."

Due November 30, Street's Disciple isn't just about Nas' love for the ladies. The double-disc set also tackles social issues, his bond with his father, and MCs who've influenced him.

On "American Way," Nas rails against not only President Bush and his administration, but also Senator John Kerry, newly politically active hip-hop artists, and bigots with stereotypical views on hip-hoppers. The song, which also features Kelis, is built on a Q-Tip track that samples George Clinton.

Nas shows his softer side with his current single, "Bridging the Gap," which features his father, jazz musician Olu Dara, and pays homage to both Dara and their relationship.

He also pays tribute to hip-hop legend Rakim on the old-schooled-flavored "U.B.R. (Unauthorized Biography of Rakim)." Starting with the birth of the veteran MC, Nas takes us through Rakim's rise with great detail, even listing his discography. The song ends with Nas promising more in his "unauthorized biography" series: "Next book, KRS-One."

The old-school vibe continues on "Virgo." Featuring Ludacris and Doug E. Fresh, the astrology-themed track finds Nas and 'Cris doing their best Slick Rick imitation — a la "La-Di-Da-Di" — over beatboxing by Fresh.

Other highlights include "Rest of My Life," "Suicide Bounce" featuring Busta Rhymes, and "Coon Picnic (These Are Our Heroes)."

Track list for Nas' Street's Disciple, according to his publicist:

Disc 1

  • "Intro"

  • "A Message to the Feds, Sincerely, We the People"
  • "Nazareth Savage"
  • "American Way" (featuring Kelis)
  • "Coon Picnic (These Are Our Heroes)"
  • "Disciple"
  • "Sekou Story" (featuring Scarlett)
  • "Live Now" (featuring Scarlett)
  • "Rest of My Life"
  • "Just a Moment" (featuring Quan)
  • "Reason" (featuring Emily)
  • "You Know My Style"

Disc 2

  • "Suicide Bounce" (featuring Busta Rhymes)

  • "Street's Disciple" (featuring Olu Dara)

  • "U.B.R. (Unauthorized Biography of Rakim)"

  • "Virgo (featuring Ludacris and Doug E. Fresh)

  • "Remember the Times (Intro)"

  • "Remember the Times"

  • "The Makings of a Perfect Bitch"

  • "Getting Married"

  • "No One Else in the Room" (featuring Maxwell)

  • "Bridging the Gap" (featuring Olu Dara)

  • "War" (featuring Keon Bryce)

  • "Me & You (Dedicated To Destiny)"

  • "Thief's Theme"