New Releases: Now 17, A Perfect Circle, Ying Yang Twins, AFI, Rolling Stones, Train & More

Election Day also sees new LPs from Voodoo Glow Skulls, King's X.

This Election Day, some artists are hoping you make your voice heard at voting booths and then at the record stores.

Releasing their politically charged third album on Tuesday (November 2) was a conscious decision for A Perfect Circle. Their eMOTIVe is a 12-song disc, of which 10 tracks are covers of songs like John Lennon's "Imagine," Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On," "People Are People" by Depeche Mode, and "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding" by Nick Lowe (performed most famously by Elvis Costello). The two original tracks, "Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums" and "Passive," rally against apathy.

Somewhat less political is the new album by the Ying Yang Twins, My Brother & Me. The follow-up to 2003's Me and My Brother is a CD/DVD combo featuring 10 new songs, performance and behind-the-scenes footage, three videos, and collaborations on the album with Lil Jon, Juvenile, Fat Joe and others.

The 17th installment of the massively successful Now That's What I Call Music! series hits stores Tuesday with tracks by Ciara ("Goodies"), the Beastie Boys ("Ch-Check It Out"), Franz Ferdinand ("Take Me Out"), Nelly ("My Place") and Black Eyed Peas ("Let's Get It Started"), among a slew of others.

Also out this week are albums by the Rolling Stones (Live Licks); AFI (AFI); Catch 22 (Live); and Train (Alive at Last).

Out Tuesday, November 2:

  • AFI - AFI (Nitro)
    Buy Now: AFI (Nitro)

  • The Anomoanon - Joji (Temporary Residence Ltd.)

  • Carlos Barbosa-Lima - Siboney (Zoho)

  • Beakers - Four Steps Toward a Cultural Revolution (K Records)

  • Blackouts - History in Reverse (K)

  • Born From the Pain - Sands of Time (Blackmarket Activities/Metal Blade)

  • Catch 22 - Live (Victory)

  • Beth Neilsen Chapman - Hymns (Emergent)

  • Bobby Cheeks - A Soldier's Story (Lightyear)

  • D:Fuse - Begin (System Recordings)

  • Jesse Dayton - Country Soul Brother (Stag)

  • Iris DeMent - Lifeline (FlariElla)

  • DJ Tiësto - Parade of the Athletes (Nettwerk)

  • Dolour - New Old Friends (Made in Mexico)

  • Duran Duran - The Singles 1986-1995 (box set, Capitol)

  • Steve Earle - Live From Austin TX (New West)

  • Electroputas - 3 (The Social Registry)

  • Grip Weeds - Giant on the Beach (Rainbow Quartz)

  • Grits - Dichotomy B (Gotee)

  • Hall of Fame - Paradise Now (Social Registry)

  • Richie Hart - Blues in the Alley (Zoho)

  • He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood (Tooth & Nail)

  • Hopesfall - A Types (Trustkill)

  • If Hope Dies - The Ground Is Rushing Up to Meet Us (Ironclad/Metal Blade)

  • Ronny Jordan - After 8 (N-Coded)

  • Robert Earl Keen - Live from Austin TX (New West)

  • King's X - Live All Over the Place (Brop!/Metal Blade)

  • Lazarus - Like Trees We Grow Up to Be Satellites (The Backwards America)

  • Lazy Boy - Lazy Boy TV (Universal)

  • John Lennon - Acoustic (Capitol)

  • Live - Awake: The Best of Live (Geffen)
    Buy Now: Awake: The Best of Live (Geffen)

  • Neal Morse - One (Radiant/Metal Blade)

  • Ms. Led - These Things We Say (Fish the Cat)

  • Newsboys - Devotion (Sparrow)

  • Josh One - Narrow Path (Silverline)

  • Only Children - Change of Living (Glurp)

  • The Panoply Academy - Everything Here Was Built to Break (Secretly Canadian)

  • Paria - Misanthropos (Blackmarket Activities/Metal Blade)

  • A Perfect Circle - Emotive (Virgin)
    Read: "A Perfect Circle Album Preview: Politics? They've Got It Covered"
    Buy Now: Emotive (Virgin)

  • Phenomenauts - Re-Entry (SideCho)

  • Rolling Stones - Live Licks (Virgin)

  • Silver Sunshine - Silver Sunshine (Empyrean)

  • Skates - Lord of the Rinks (Unschooled)

  • Strung Out - Exile in Oblivion (Fat Wreck Chords)

  • Tarentel - We Move Through Weather (Temporary Residence Ltd.)

  • Susan Tedeschi - Live From Austin TX (New West)

  • Train - Alive at Last (Columbia)
    Buy Now: Alive at Last (Columbia)

  • Trans-Siberian Orchestra - The Christmas Trilogy (Rhino)

  • Two Cow Garage - The Wall Against Our Back (Stag)

  • Voodoo Glow Skulls - Adicción, Tradición, Revolución (Victory)

  • Darryl Worley - Darryl Worley (DreamWorks Nashville)

  • Woven Hand - Consider the Birds (Sounds Familyre)

  • Ying Yang Twins - My Brother & Me (TVT)
    Buy Now: My Brother & Me (TVT)

  • Various artists - L.A.'s Rising Scene 2004 (Aeronaut)

  • Various Artists - Non-Stop Funk Party: Music From & Inspired by 'The Bernie Mac Show' (The Right Stuff/EMI)

  • Various artists - Now That's What I Call Music! 17 (Capitol)

  • Various artists - "The Polar Express" soundtrack (Warner Bros.)

  • DVD: Against Me! - "We're Never Going Home" (Fat Wreck Chords)

  • DVD: The Microphones/Little Wings - "Wise Old Little Boy" (K)

  • DVD: Stacie Orrico - "Live in Japan" (Sparrow)

  • DVD: Yellowcard - "Beyond Ocean Avenue: Live at the Electric Factory" (Capitol)

  • DVD: Various artists - "Punk Rock Holocaust" (Red)

November 9:

November 16:

November 23:

November 30: