New Releases: LL Cool J, Bjork, Ray Charles, Jill Scott, Papa Roach & More

Arriving in stores this week are new albums by LL Cool J, Björk, Ray Charles, Jill Scott, Papa Roach & More

The cool James the ladies love is back with his follow-up to 2002's 10. The DEFinition, which features characteristic tracks like "I'm About to Get Her" and "Shake It Baby," is the smooth-talking rapper's 11th album.

Icelandic songstress Björk's new album lays its focus squarely on the textures and tones of the human voice. Medúlla is performed almost entirely a cappella and features the vocal talents of former Roots member Rahzel, Robert Wyatt, ex-Faith No More singer Mike Patton and a 20-piece choir.

The posthumous Ray Charles release Genius Loves Company is the last studio album the singer recorded before his death on June 10, and his first LP since 1996's Strong Love Affair. A duets album, Genius Loves Company sees the legendary soul man paired with artists including Norah Jones, Elton John, BB King, James Taylor, Willie Nelson and Van Morrison.


Listen to LL Cool J's The DEFinition on The Leak

Soul singer Jill Scott released the first volume of this week's release, Beautifully Human: Words and Sounds Vol. 2, in 2000 and slipped a live album, Experience: Jill Scott, in between. The Philly-bred singer got her big break singing on the Roots track "You Got Me" in 1999.

Hard rockers Papa Roach will release their third major-label album, Getting Away With Murder, while the slightly older, way harder rockers Danzig release their latest, Circle of Snakes.

P.O.D., Scott Stapp, Lauren Hill, MxPx and others have all composed tracks for Passion of the Christ: Songs, an album of songs inspired by the Mel Gibson film. On the more evil side of things, A Perfect Circle, Rob Zombie, Slipknot, Killswitch Engage and others lent tracks to the soundtrack from "Resident Evil: Apocalypse."

And for your weekly dose of comedy, check out Chris Rock's latest DVD, "Never Scared," his fourth HBO special, which hits stores this week.

Also out this week are albums by the Libertines (The Libertines), Beatnuts (Milk Me) and the Insane Clown Posse (Hell's Pit: Version 1, Hell's Pit: Version 2).

Out Tuesday, August 31:

  • Asia - Silent Nation (Inside Out U.S.)

  • Jon Balke - Diverted Travels (ECM)

  • Beatnuts - Milk Me (Penalty)

  • Dan Bern - My Country Too EP (Messenger)

  • Björk - Medúlla (Elektra/ Asylum)
    Buy Now: Medúlla (Elektra/ Asylum)
    Read: "Bjork Album Preview: Beautiful, Baffling and Bothersome Medúlla"

  • Black Tape for a Blue Girl - Halo Star (Projekt)

  • The Blue Nile - High (Sanctuary)

  • Shawn Camp - Live at the Station Inn (Oh Boy)

  • Melonie Cannon - Melonie Cannon (Skaggs Family)

  • Ray Charles - Genius Loves Company (Concord)
    Buy Now: Genius Loves Company (Concord)

  • Judy Collins - Sings Leonard Cohen: Democracy (Rhino)

  • Albert Cummings - True to Yourself (Blind Pig)

  • Trent Dabbs - Quite Often (Terminus)

  • Danzig - Circle of Snakes (Evilive Records)
    Buy Now: Circle of Snakes (Evilive Records)

  • Louie Devito - Dance Factory Level 3 (Dee Vee Music)

  • DJ Harry - Collision (SCI Fidelity)

  • Dan Dyer - ... Of What Lies Beneath (Reprise)

  • Charlie Haden - The Land of the Sun (Verve)

  • Jedd Hughes - Transcontinental (MCA Nashville)

  • Insane Clown Posse - Hell's Pit – Version 1 (Psychopathic)

  • Insane Clown Posse - Hell's Pit – Version 2 (Psychopathic)

  • Keith Jarrett Trio - The Out of Towners (ECM)

  • Anders Jormin - In Winds, In Light (ECM)

  • Lamb of God - Ashes of the Wake (Epic)

  • Leftover Crack - F--- World Trade (Alternative Tentacles)

  • Libertines - The Libertines (Rough Trade)

  • LL Cool J - The DEFinition (Def Jam)
    Buy Now: The DEFinition (Def Jam)

  • Rebecca Martin - People Behave Like Ballads (MaxJazz)

  • Mastodon - Leviathan (Relapse)

  • Mente Urbana - Tormenta (LaCalle)

  • Melba Moore - Nobody but Jesus (Believe/Lightyear)

  • Papa Roach - Getting Away With Murder (Geffen)
    Buy Now: Getting Away With Murder (Geffen)

  • Omar A. Rodriguez-Lopez - A Manual Dexterity - Soundtrack Volume 1 (GSL)

  • Jordan Rudess - Rhythm of Time (Magna Carta)

  • Jill Scott - Beautifully Human: Words and Sounds Vol. 2 (Hidden Beach)
    Buy Now: Beautifully Human: Words and Sounds Vol. 2 (Hidden Beach)

  • Percy Sledge - Shining Through the Rain (Varèse Sarabande)

  • TQ - Listen (Hub/Lightyear)

  • Trashcan Sinatras - Weightlifting (spinART)

  • Jacob Young - Evening Falls (ECM)

  • Various artists - Passion of the Christ: Songs (Wind-Up)

  • Original cast recording - Mexican Hayride (Decca)

  • Various artists – "Lion King 2: Simba's Pride" (soundtrack) (Walt Disney)

  • Various artists – "Lizzie McGuire Total Party" soundtrack (Walt Disney)

  • Various artists – "Resident Evil: Apocalypse" soundtrack (Roadrunner)

  • Various artists – "Vanity Fair" soundtrack (Decca)

  • DVD: David Byrne – "ILÉ AIYÉ" (The House of Life) (Plexifilm)

  • DVD: Chris Rock – "Never Scared" (Warner Bros.)

September 7:

  • Black Keys - Rubber Factory (Epitaph)

  • Dio - Master of the Moon (Sanctuary)

  • Jill Sobule - Underdog Victorious (Artemis)

  • Matthew Sweet - Living Things (Racm)

September 14:

September 21: