Mixtape Mondays: Sunny, Heather Hunter, Nas, Shawn Pen

DJ Sunny throws down with porn star Heather Hunter, Nas samples Iron Butterfly.

Artist: Sunny

Mixtape: The Passion and the Heist

Representing: The Tri-State Area (New York/New Jersey/Connecticut)

The 411: It's girl power multiplied by two: New York radio personality Sunny from Hot 97 has put out her second mixtape, this time with a little help from adult film legend Heather Hunter. As the two ladies describe it, Sunny represents "the heist" with her hustle game, while her porn-queen chum is "the passion" — for obvious reasons. There's a lot of female locker-room talk going on here, but the ladies also play a raw gaggle of hip-hop ditties.

Joints To Check For:

  • "$20,000 Battle: Remy Martin vs. Lady Luck (Live at the Fight Klub)" - It's great to see the ladies competing. Remy and Luck are spitting so hard on this track that you'd think they had testosterone running through them. Last Monday, the two had a rematch and, as you'll hear here, Luck handled Remy for a good portion of the battle — but Martin came on strong in the latter rounds for another victory.
  • "N.Y. State of Mind" by the Terror Squad featuring Cam'ron - Terror Squad needs to drop their album tomorrow! (It's coming soon, as you'll read below.) Already melting the pavement with "Yeah, Yeah, Yeah," the Squad come with a slower and more reflective — but equally potent — follow-up. Teaming with up Killa Cam, Fat Joe and Remy use a Billy Joel sample to produce another Big Apple anthem.
  • Various Heather Hunter skits - Double-H, who you've probably heard being shouted out by MCs such as Lil' Kim ("Big Mama Thang") over the years, gets close to pornography with her easy speak about rappers, the size of certain celebrities' body parts and some of her humorous past sexual experiences.

Don't Sleep: Other Notable Selections This Week

  • Tapemasters Inc.'s BQE Expressway
  • DJ Mo' Fire's George Bushwick Politrix Pt. 1 and 21 Grams
  • Uno Dos' Amongst the Elite
  • Mick Boogie's The Big Picture
  • Big Mike's Dead or Alive: The Final Chapter

'Hood's Heavy Rotation: Bubbling Below The Radar

  • Nas - "The Thief's Theme" (see below)

  • Lil' Flip, Young Buck and Bun-B - "Game Over" remix
  • Ghostface featuring Sheek and Styles P - "Metal Lungies"
  • Pitbull featuring Fat Joe, Lil Jon and Lil Scrappy - "That's Nasty"
  • Trina - "Put It on Top"

The Streets Is Talking: News & Notes From The Underground

Once again, Nas has paid homage to the old school — but this time it's actually historic rock instead of trailblazing rap. In his new record, "The Thief's Theme," Nas uses elements from Iron Butterfly's groundbreaking "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida." The 1968 song is considered by many to be one of the first heavy metal records and was Iron Butterfly's biggest hit. The most distinctive (or infamous, depending on who you ask) aspect of the record is that it lasts for 17 minutes and 5 seconds. Luckily, "The Thief's Theme" clocks in at just over three minutes. ...

You might remember Little Shawn from his early '90s hits like "Dom Perignon" and "Hickeys on Your Chest." Biggie even gave him a double shout-out on "Party and Bullsh--" (rapping, "Can't we just all get along and put hickeys on your chest like Little Shawn?/ Get her pissy drunk off of Dom Perignon"), but for most of the past decade, he's been absent from the scene. Now he's doing his best to reestablish himself. At the end of last year, he was released from federal prison (after serving five years on drug charges), and almost immediately the calls started coming in. According to his management, one of the people that Shawn — who now goes by Shawn Pen — has been keeping in touch with is 50 Cent. According to Pen's rep, Shawn is close to inking a deal that will make him an official member of 50's G-Unit. Like 50, Shawn is hoping to conjure up fan interest by putting out his first mixtape, Welcome Home, at the end of this week. The CD starts off with everyone from Jay-Z to Foxy Brown to Lil' Kim calling Shawn and congratulating him on his return to society. AZ, who also puts in a phone message, raps with Pen on "Sugar Hill 2004," while Black Juice and Jaz-O are featured on the CD's title track. Talib Kweli is another guest star on the mixtape, via "Walk With Me." ...

For other artists featured in Mixtape Mondays, check out Mixtape Mondays Headlines.

For a full-length feature on the role of mixtapes in the music industry, check out "Mixtapes: The Other Music Industry."