Full Coachella Lineup Announced

Air, Bright Eyes, Wilco, Phantom Planet among acts playing desert festival.

The lineup for the fifth annual Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, to be held in the desert city of Indio, California, has been finalized. The gathering will feature a total of 71 rock bands, electronic DJs and hip-hop performers over the weekend of May 1 and 2.

Among the highlights of day one, headlined by Radiohead, are the reunion of post-punk pioneers the Pixies, which was first reported by MTV News in September (see "Legendary Pixies To Reunite For Tour, Album"), the return of German electronic godfathers Kraftwerk, country rockers Wilco and international folk singer Juana Molina. Headed by the Cure, day two features the Flaming Lips, French sound sculptors Air, dance DJs Basement Jaxx as well as Bright Eyes.

Coachella has been compared with the eclectic, weekend-long music festivals in Europe such as Glastonbury and Reading. This year, the lineup follows the model of previous years, mixing headlining alternative rock artists with underground favorites, international sensations and up-and-coming acts performing across two stages and three tents.

The festival will also feature the unique homecoming of Queens of the Stone side project Desert Sessions, performing live. Created by QOTSA frontman Josh Homme several years ago, the Desert Sessions discs feature several members of his band literally jamming in the desert with various musicians, such as PJ Harvey, who is featured on the most recent album, Desert Sessions Volume 9 & 10.

A limited number of two-day passes for the festival are on sale now. Individual day passes go on sale February 14. Ticket and other info are available at the festival's Web site (www.coachella.com).

The Coachella lineup, according to the event's promoter:

    Saturday, May 1

  • Radiohead

  • The Pixies

  • Kraftwerk

  • Wilco

  • The (International) Noise Conspiracy

  • The Rapture

  • Desert Sessions

  • Hieroglyphics

  • Kinky

  • Stereolab

  • Future Sound of London

  • ... And you will know us by the Trail of Dead

  • Peretz

  • Death Cab for Cutie

  • Laurent Garnier

  • LCD Soundsystem

  • Living Legends

  • Sander Kleinenberg

  • Black Keys

  • The Sounds

  • Howie Day

  • Junior Senior

  • Mark Farina

  • Moving Units

  • Sahara Hotnights

  • Electric Six

  • The Stills

  • Seb Fontaine

  • 22-20's

  • Juana Molina

  • Phantom Planet

  • Dios

  • Jem

  • Q and not U

  • Erase Errata

  • The Section Quartet

  • DJ Icon

Sunday, May 2

  • The Cure

  • The Flaming Lips

  • Air

  • Belle & Sebastian

  • Basement Jaxx

  • Paul van Dyk

  • Bright Eyes

  • Atmosphere

  • Thursday

  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

  • Cursive

  • Le Tigre

  • The Crystal Method

  • Dizzee Rascal

  • Adam Freeland

  • Mogwai

  • Ash

  • 2many DJ's

  • Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra

  • Muse

  • Sidestepper

  • The Thrills

  • Broken Social Scene

  • The Sleepy Jackson

  • Ferry Corsten

  • Prefuse 73

  • !!!

  • The Cooper Temple Clause

  • Sage Francis

  • T. Raumschmiere

  • Stellastarr

  • The Killers

  • Home Town Hero

  • The Section Quartet