'American Idol' CD To Feature Four Kelly Clarkson Numbers

Runner-up Justin Guarini gets two tracks on Greatest Moments, due October 1.

"American Idol" champ Kelly Clarkson will be featured on four tracks on the upcoming American Idol: Greatest Moments album, due October 1.

The 15-track CD won't shortchange pouffy-haired runner-up Justin Guarini, who gets a pair of spotlight songs on the compilation culled from the surprise Fox summer hit, according to an RCA Records spokesperson. The other eight runners-up — Christina Christian, EJay Day, A.J. Gil, Tamyra Gray, R.J. Helton, Nikki McKibbin, Ryan Starr and Jim Verraros — will each contribute one track to the album, and the whole gang pitch in for a cover of "California Dreaming." All of the songs were performed on the program.

Clarkson will be heard singing her two breakout Aretha Franklin covers, "Respect" and "(You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman," as well as the two songs on her debut single, which was released Tuesday: "A Moment Like This" and "Before Your Love." Clarkson's still-untitled debut album, which was slated for a November release, has been pushed back until early 2003.

Meanwhile, fans may not have seen the last of Tamyra Gray. According to a spokesperson for the singer, she recently met with TV producer David E. Kelley to audition for a role on his Fox drama "Boston Public."

The top 30 finalists will be brought together one more time on September 23 for the two-hour television special "American Idol in Vegas." Clarkson's video for "Before Your Love" will premiere during the special.

The final 10 hit the road for a 28-date tour beginning October 8 at Cox Arena in San Diego.

The tracklisting for American Idol: Greatest Moments:

  • "(You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman" (Clarkson)

  • "Respect" (Clarkson)

  • "For Once in My Life" (Guarini)

  • "Get Here" (Guarini)

  • "Piece of My Heart" (McKibbin)

  • "A House Is Not a Home" (Gray)

  • "Lately" (Helton)

  • "Ain't No Sunshine" (Christian)

  • "If You Really Love Me" (Starr)

  • "My Cherie Amour" (Gil)

  • "I'll Be" (Day)

  • "Easy" (Verraros)

  • "California Dreamin' (all)

  • "A Moment Like This" (Clarkson)

  • "Before Your Love" (Clarkson)