Rage/Cornell Project To Release Album In November

First single, 'Cochese,' slated to hit radio in early October.

Chris Cornell and the former instrumental section of Rage Against the Machine, who have settled on the name Audioslave, have set a November 19 release date for their self-titled debut album.

The first single from the record is called "Cochise" and is slated to hit radio in early October, according to the band's management. Audioslave will shoot a video for the track in Los Angeles at the end of September with Mark Romanek, the director behind Nine Inch Nails' "Closer" and Michael and Janet Jackson's "Scream."

Audioslave will support the album with a handful of shows this fall, though dates have not been announced.

Though Cornell dropped out of the project in March, just after the band was announced as performers on Ozzfest (see "Chris Cornell Quits New Rage Project"), the group recently reconvened to record.

Material from their original sessions was leaked online in May (see "Rage/Cornell-Credited Tracks Get Leaked Online"), but an Epic Records spokesperson said the new songs are dramatically different than the demos, which were never intended for release.

Audioslave track listing, according to Epic:

  • "Cochise"

  • "Show Me How to Live"

  • "Gasoline"

  • "What You Are"

  • "Like a Stone"

  • "Set It Off"

  • "Shadow of the Sun"

  • "I Am the Highway"

  • "Exploder"

  • "Hypnotize"

  • "Bring Em Back Alive"

  • "Light My Way"

  • "Getaway Car"

  • "The Last Remaining Light"

[This story was updated at 2:00 P.M. EST on 09.20.02.]