Pearl Jam Finalize Riot Act, Plan More Live Albums

Seventh studio release followed by tour, rarities album.

By the end of 2003, Pearl Jam will probably have the world record for the most major label releases in the least amount of time — well over 100 in three years. Of course, only two of the discs will have been studio albums.

As with their Binaural tour, during which the band recorded all 72 shows for 72 double CDs, every concert on the band's upcoming jaunt will be preserved on tape for later release, a band spokesperson said. Pearl Jam are finalizing the routing for their next world tour and plan to announce dates in the coming weeks.

The band will be touring behind its new album, Riot Act, due November 12. The disc was produced by Adam Kasper and Pearl Jam and mixed by Brendan O'Brien. Bassist Jeff Ament contributed to the album artwork along with Brad Klausen and Kelly Gilliam.

The first single from Riot Act, "I Am Mine," will be released to radio September 18. The tune starts with a mystical strum reminiscent of something from Led Zeppelin III, then shifts into a swaying, organic, keyboard-inflected track that sounds at times like an Irish drinking song.

For half the verses, Eddie Vedder sings in a wobbly voice that's almost below his range. The vocal tone works to enhance the song's theme of mortality and self-sufficiency: "I know I was born and I know that I'll die/ The in-between is mine/ I am mine."

The band's rarities record will likely be released while Pearl Jam are on tour early next year, the spokesperson said (see "Pearl Jam Working On New Album, Planning Release Of Rarities").

In addition, Vedder can be heard performing the Ramones' "I Believe in Miracles" along with Zeke on the upcoming tribute album We're a Happy Family (see "Rob Zombie Finalizes Ramones Tribute With Last-Minute Adds"). Initial pressings will also feature the Vedder/Zeke bonus track "Daytime Dilemma (Dangers of Love)."

While working on Riot Act, Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready found time to join the Wallflowers to record most of the guitar parts for their next record, Red Letter Days, due November 5.

Track list for Riot Act, according to the band's publicist:

  • "Can't Keep"

  • "Save You"

  • "Love Boat Captain"

  • "Cropduster"

  • "Ghost"

  • "I Am Mine"

  • "Thumbing My Way"

  • "You Are"

  • "Get Right"

  • "Green Disease"

  • "helphelp"

  • "Bushleaguer"

  • "1/2 Full"

  • "Arc"

  • "All or None"