Springsteen, E Street Band On The Rise After 18 Years

July 30 release includes 'My City of Ruins,' was produced by Brendan O' Brien

A good 18 years have passed since Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

recorded their last studio record, Born in the U.S.A.

Now, following a hugely successful 2000 concert reunion, the group is about

to release a new studio disc called The Rising.

In their attempt to bridge all those fallow years with a single release they

also appear to be going for a contemporary sound, hiring producer Brendan

O'Brien, who is best known for working with groups like Korn, Limp Bizkit,

Pearl Jam and Rage Against the Machine.

The Rising comes out July 30 and features 14 new songs and the band's

version of "My City of Ruins," which Springsteen played on the "America: A

Tribute to Heroes" telethon last fall.

The disc was recorded this year in Atlanta by Springsteen and E Street

members Roy Bittan (keyboards), Clarence Clemons (Saxophone, percussion),

Danny Federici (keyboards), Nils Lofgren (guitars), Patti Scialfa (vocals,

guitar), Garry Tallent (bass), Steven Van Zandt (guitars) and Max Weinberg


Track list for The Rising, according to Columbia Records:

  • "Lonesome Day"

  • "Into the Fire"

  • "Waitin' on a Sunny Day"

  • "Nothing Man"

  • "Countin' on a Miracle"

  • "Empty Sky"

  • "Worlds Apart"

  • "Let's Be Friends"

  • "Further on (Up the Road)"

  • "The Fuse"

  • "Mary's Place"

  • "You're Missing"

  • "The Rising"

  • "Paradise"

  • "My City of Ruins"