Silverchair Craft U.S. Diorama, Plan New York Dates

Trio return from brief hiatus with fourth LP.

In America, Australia's Silverchair are talked about as if they've come and gone, a la "the Vines are the next Silverchair."

In their home country, however, the trio that were once "the next Nirvana" are still coming as strong as ever, with their new album, Diorama, debuting at #1 and going platinum in less than a month (in Australia, that's 70,000 copies sold).

On July 30, singer/guitarist Daniel Johns, bassist Chris Joannou and drummer Ben Gillies will test their fourth studio album on U.S. shores courtesy of a new deal with Atlantic. "The Greatest View" will be the first Stateside single and is expected to debut at radio later this month, manager John Watson said.

Silverchair released a Best Of compilation in 2000 (see "Silverchair Releasing Compilation, Planning New Label), a year after their most recent studio album, Neon Ballroom. While that album spawned the hits "Anthem for the Year 2000" and "Ana's Song (Open Fire)" and 1997's Freak Show featured the favorite "Freak," Silverchair have yet to live up to the success of their debut Frogstomp and the singles "Tomorrow" and "Pure Massacre" — at least in America.

Diorama was called "the most ambitious, glorious piece of music ever by an Australian artist" by Sydney's Daily Telegraph, while "The Greatest View" has been the biggest radio airplay hit in the band's career, according to Watson. The album was produced by David Bottrill (Tool, Peter Gabriel) and features appearances by Midnight Oil guitarist Jim Moginie and composer Van Dyke Parks, who has worked with Brian Wilson, Fiona Apple and countless others.

Johns and cohorts will promote Diorama in the States with a couple of New York City shows in early June, though Watson could not confirm the dates. Silverchair will also play Edgefest in Toronto on July 1.

Diorama track list, according to Watson:

  • "Across the Night"

  • "The Greatest View"

  • "Without You"

  • "World Upon Your Shoulders"

  • "One Way Mule"

  • "Tuna in the Brine"

  • "Too Much of Not Enough"

  • "Luv Your Life"

  • "The Lever"

  • "My Favourite Thing"

  • "After All These Years"