Swizz Beatz Unveils Metallica/Ja Rule Track, Sets 'Guilty' Single

Collaboration with Bounty Killer first salvo from G.H.E.T.T.O. Stories.

Swizz Beatz' long-talked-about compilation LP, G.H.E.T.T.O. Stories, seems like it's finally becoming a reality. On April 14 and 15, the producer will shoot the video for the first single from the project, "Guilty," which features Bounty Killer, his spokesperson said.

Swizz, who produced the entire album, rhymes on the song while Bounty chimes in with ragga rhythmic chants. Swizz's beat in question, with its bass and piano thumps, reminds you of a track you'd hear on "Starsky and Hutch" during a action-packed car-chase scene.

From TV to the silver screen: The remix to "Salute Me" sounds like horror-movie theme music — on the last verse, at least — as Nas, Fat Joe and Swizz protégé Cassidy (not to be confused with Butch Cassidy, who runs with Snoop Dogg) all take turns teeing off on the mic. Nas and Joe rhyme over a supersized, synthesized bounce track, while Swizz gives Cassidy a darker soundscape worthy of applause from Michael Myers.

Collaborations are frequent — Jadakiss teams with Ron "Mr. Biggs" Isley on "Big Business" (the singing legend actually croons, "Hey fellas, what the dilly is?") and Ja Rule headbangs with Metallica on "We Did It Again."

"Who loves a little rock and roll mixed with a little hip-hop soul?" Ja growls, provoking Metallica to holla back, "We do!" "More than this/ Nevermore your whipping board," Metallica go on to spurt, while Ja proclaims himself "A rock star born in the U.S.A."

On initial listens to "We Did It Again," Swizz's beat is a little difficult for the ears to catch up with. A few of the riffs sound Linkin Park-ish, and he switches up tempos several times. But hey, who said rap and roll was easy?

Shyne leaves a gift to his fans with a self-titled track. Mashonda, who was featured on DMX's last LP, The Great Depression, sings out the Brooklyn MC's name over a computerized, violin-driven track while he weaves his "gangsta scenarios": "I got my mind on shipment/ Shipment on my mind/ Rap, what's that?"

The album is expected to arrive in August.

G.H.E.T.T.O. Stories track list, according to DreamWorks Records:

  • Swizz Beatz - "Intro"

  • Swizz Beatz - "Ghetto Stories"

  • Jadakiss f/ Ron Isley - "Big Business"

  • Swizz Beatz - "Turn It Up (Interlude)"

  • Swizz Beatz f/ Busta Rhymes - "Endalay"

  • Shyne f/ Mashonda - "Shyne"

  • Mashonda f/ LL Cool J - "Ghetto Love"

  • Swizz Beatz - "Alien (Interlude)"

  • Styles - "Good Times"

  • Swizz Beatz f/ Lil' Kim - "Gone Delirious"

  • Noreaga - "N.O.R.E."

  • Baby f/ Yung Wun - "Let Me See You Do Your Thing"

  • Eve - "Island Spice"

  • Swizz Beatz f/ Bounty Killer - "Guilty"

  • Nas, Fat Joe and Cassidy - "Salute Me (Remix)"

  • Swizz Beatz - "Outro"

  • Swizz Beatz f/ Metallica and Ja Rule - "We Did It Again"