Nelly Furtado, Ice Cube Add Flavor To Oakenfold's Bunkka

DJ's latest also features Shifty Shellshock, Tricky, Perry Farrell, others.

After keeping his star-studded studio album under wraps since last summer, superstar DJ Paul Oakenfold chose the high-profile Winter Music Conference to spill the beans — or, in this case, the beats — on Bunkka.

Due June 18, the record includes a bevy of hip-hop, rock and pop stars, along with the banging "Southern Sun," which Oakenfold dropped into his sets throughout the electronic music festival earlier this week in Miami, according to his Maverick Records spokesperson.

Nelly Furtado and Tricky add their signature voices to "The Harder They Come," and Perry Farrell adds his to "Time of Your Life." Ice Cube raps on "Get Em Up," and Crazy Town's Shifty Shellshock rocks a rhyme on "Starry Eyed Surprise" (see "Crazy Town Ready To Record Second LP").

Asher D of So Solid Crew is the voice behind Bunkka's first single, "Ready Steady Go," which will hit radio in May. Other guests include author Hunter S. Thompson, singer/songwriter Grant Lee Philips and newcomers Tiff Lacey, Emiliana Torrini and Carla Warner, who sings on "Southern Sun."

Former Smashing Pumpkins singer Billy Corgan recorded a track with the DJ, who is also a respected remixer and producer, but his spokesperson said it did not make the album.

Oakenfold is talking to directors about the video for "Ready Steady Go" and lining up tour dates. He has five dates booked for next month, including the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival on April 28. More dates will come, his spokesperson said.

Last year, Oakenfold produced the "Swordfish" soundtrack (see "Paul Oakenfold Travels From 'Planet' To 'Planet' ") and toured with Moby's Area:One (see "Area:One Fest: Outkast, Moby Do Post-Lollapalooza Rave In Maryland").

Bunkka track list, according to Maverick:

  • "Ready Steady Go" f/ Asher D

  • "Southern Sun" f/ Carla Warner

  • "Time of Your Life" f/ Perry Farrell

  • "Hypnotized" f/ Tiff Lacey

  • "Zoo York"

  • "Nixon's Spirit" f/ Hunter S. Thompson

  • "Hold Your Hand" f/ Emiliana Torrini

  • "Starry Eyed Surprise" f/ Shifty Shellshock

  • "Get Em Up" f/ Ice Cube

  • "Motion" f/ Grant Lee Philips

  • "The Harder They Come" f/ Nelly Furtado and Tricky

Paul Oakenfold tour dates, according to Maverick:

  • 4/18 - Evanston, IL @ McGaw Hall

  • 4/19 - Mississauga, ON @ Hershey Center

  • 4/20 - Rosemont, IL @ Allstate Arena

  • 4/26 - San Francisco, CA @ Cow Palace

  • 4/28 - Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival