Nick Carter Was 'Just A Gigolo' Before Joining Backstreet Boys

Nick Carter: Before the 'Boys' also includes 'Jailhouse Rock,' 'Star-Spangled Banner.'

If the Backstreet Boys' 6-year old self-titled debut album doesn't delve deep enough into the group's beginnings for some completists, an old-school blast from Nick Carter's past should provide an ample history lesson as to what the youngest member was up to pre-BSB.

Nick Carter: Before the "Boys" 1989-1993, available nationwide on March 26, features 14 songs Nickolas Gene Carter cut with the album's producer, Mark Dye, who was Carter's vocal coach from age 9 to 13, according to the album's publicist.

Before forming the Backstreet Boys with Kevin Richardson, Brian Littrell, A.J. McLean and Howie Dorough, Carter was something of a local singing prodigy who performed at Tampa Bay Buccaneers halftime shows and the Florida State Fair.

Among the musical fare recorded during his days on the home-state circuit are covers of Michael Bolton's "Love Is a Wonderful Thing"; Dion's "Runaround Sue"; Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller's "Jailhouse Rock," a tune made famous by Elvis Presley; and the standard medley of "Just a Gigolo" and "I Ain't Got Nobody"; among others. Carter's career highlights include "The Star-Spangled Banner," his first solo recording, and the Dye-penned "Summer!" which features the young vocalist in multitracked, four-part harmony.

Before the "Boys" had been previously available regionally and by mail order via Dye's Web site,

Track list for Nick Carter: Before the "Boys" 1989-1993, according to the album's publicist:

  • "Summer!"

  • "Love Is a Wonderful Thing"

  • "More Today Than Yesterday"

  • "Hard to Get"

  • "Rhythm of My Heart"

  • "Runaround Sue"

  • "Lights"

  • "Breaking up Is Hard to Do"

  • "Just a Gigolo/I Ain't Got Nobody"

  • "Jailhouse Rock"

  • "God Bless the U.S.A."

  • "Uptown Girl"

  • "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree"

  • "The Star-Spangled Banner"