Dre, Timbaland Beats Will Be Absent On No Doubt LP

Tracks by producers William Orbit, Ric Ocasek make the cut for Rock Steady.

No Doubt have finalized a track list for Rock Steady, but they forgot about Dre and Timbaland.

The Anaheim, California, band had worked with the star hip-hop producers for the album but didn't finish the material in time to make the cut, according to No Doubt's management. Fans can expect to hear the material, including the Dr. Dre-produced "Wicked Day," sometime in the future, however.

No Doubt recorded the album with the goal of having it out by year's end, and they'll just make it with a December 18 release date (see "No Doubt Spicing Next LP With Reggae, Synth-Pop, Metal").

The 12-song album also includes production work by Prince, former Cars frontman Ric Ocasek, Nellee Hooper (Madonna, Björk), William Orbit (Blur, Madonna), and dancehall-reggae teams Sly & Robbie and Steely & Clevie (see "No Doubt Ready To Rock Steady").

No Doubt worked with the Neptunes on a few songs, but only "Hella Good" appears on the album. The red-hot production duo co-wrote the tune with the band, while Hooper produced it.

Track listing for Rock Steady, according to No Doubt's Web site:

  • "Rock Steady (Intro)" (produced by Nellee Hooper)

  • "Hella Good" (Nellee Hooper)

  • "Hey Baby" (Sly & Robbie and No Doubt)

  • "Making Out" (William Orbit)

  • "Underneath It" (Sly & Robbie and No Doubt)

  • "All Detective" (Nellee Hooper)

  • "Don't Let Me Down" (Ric Ocasek)

  • "Start the Fire" (Steely & Clevie and No Doubt)

  • "Running" (Nellee Hooper)

  • "Platinum Blonde Life" (Ric Ocasek)

  • "In My Head" (Nellee Hooper)

  • "Waiting Room" (Prince and No Doubt)

  • "Rock Steady" (Nellee Hooper)