'O Brother' Will Have Competition At Bluegrass Awards

Soundtrack's Dan Tyminski competing against himself in some categories.

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky — Although the "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" soundtrack has been the talk of the 2001 International Bluegrass Music Association convention, it won't be without competition at Thursday's 12th annual awards presentation.

Some of the competition will be coming from one of the disc's own artists. Dan Tyminski, who sings "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" in two different settings on the soundtrack, is nominated for 10 awards and could win as many as seven.

In addition to his "O Brother" contributions, Tyminski released a solo album this year titled Carry Me Across the Mountain, which competes with the "O Brother" soundtrack for Album of the Year. Two songs from his album vie with "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" for IBMA Song of the Year.

The Dan Tyminski Band, featured on his solo album, is up for Emerging Artist of the Year; Tyminski is nominated for Instrumental Performer of the Year (Guitar) and Male Vocalist of the Year; and another project featuring Tyminski, Knee Deep in Bluegrass: The AcuTab Sessions, is up for Instrumental Album of the Year and Recorded Event of the Year.

Tyminski is scheduled to give one of 11 performances during Thursday's two-hour awards show at the Kentucky Center for the Arts. Steve Wariner will join Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder on Bill Monroe's "Heavy Traffic Ahead" toward the beginning of the evening. Grammy winner and banjo specialist Alison Brown will appear with an acoustic group whose lineup includes Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Stuart Duncan, David Grier and Todd Phillips.

The Lonesome River Band, up for Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group of the Year, Instrumental Group of the Year and Album of the Year (Talkin' to Myself), will appear third on the bill. The band's Ronnie Bowman is up for Male Vocalist of the Year, while Sammy Shelor is nominated for Instrumental Performer of the Year (Banjo) and Kenny Smith is up for Instrumental Performer of the Year (Guitar).

Also slated to perform are Sonny Osborne, Mountain Heart, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Nickel Creek, reigning Entertainer of the Year winners the Del McCoury Band, and Mark Newton, who will pay tribute to IBMA Hall of Honor inductees the Carter Family with a performance of "Back to the Fold."

Rhonda Vincent & the Rage, nominated seven times, will perform "Is the Grass Any Bluer." The song, a tribute to the late Bill Monroe, appears on Vincent's latest, The Storm Still Rages. "Lonesome Wind Blues" from Vincent's previous album, Back Home Again, is up for Song of the Year. Vincent is the IBMA's reigning Female Vocalist of the Year, while Rage fiddle player Mike Cleveland and banjo player Tom Adams are nominated as the best in their respective instrumental categories.

The 2001 International Bluegrass Music Awards will be recorded for syndicated rebroadcast to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 international networks. The Bluegrass Fan Fest, with performances by many of the nominees, continues through Sunday at the Galt House Hotel.