Zeppelin Bassist Finishes Second Solo Record

Album due early next year; tour with King Crimson in works.

It took John Paul Jones 20 years to release a proper solo album after the breakup of Led Zeppelin; now he's making up for lost time.

The ex-Zep bassist and longtime producer, arranger and film scorer has finished recording The Thunderthief, which is scheduled for release early next year on Discipline Global Mobile. Jones' first solo LP, the instrumental Zooma, was released In 1999.

This time around, Jones found it impossible to hold his tongue — he will be heard singing on half of The Thunderthief's 10 tracks.

Jones recorded the LP this year at his home studio, where he was joined by drummer Terl Bryant and ex-Kajagoogoo bassist Nick Beggs, who plays the Chapman Stick. King Crimson's Robert Fripp performs several guest guitar solos, as does Get Animal axeman Adam Bomb.

The album cover will feature a drawing of a crow by singer, guitarist and "Leviathan" artist Peter Blegvad (Faust, Golden Palominos).

In November, Jones plans to tour North America with King Crimson.

The unordered track list for The Thunderthief, according to a DGM spokesperson:

  • "The Thunderthief"

  • "Leafy Meadows"

  • "Hoediddle"

  • "Daphne"

  • "Ice Fishing at Night"

  • "Angry Angry"

  • "I Ain't Got the Blues"

  • "Down to the River to Pray"

  • "Shibuya Bop"

  • "Freedom Song"