Our Lady Peace, Nelly Furtado, Sum41 Get MuchMusic Video Awards Nods

Hip-hop collective Baby Blue Soundcrew, reggae-rapper Snow each nominated in five categories.

Toronto rockers Our Lady Peace lead the pack of nominees for the 12th annual MuchMusic Video Awards, which will be broadcast live September 23 from the Canadian music network's Toronto studios. In addition to performing at the event, the quartet will vie for eight awards for their videos "In Repair" and "Life," according to a MuchMusic publicist.

"In Repair" will contend for Best Video, Best Rock Video, Best Director and Best Post-Production honors, as well People's Choice Awards for Favorite Video by a Canadian and Favorite Canadian Group. Competing against its Spiritual Machines album-mate in the Best Post-Production category, "Life" is up against videos by Big Wreck ("Inhale"), Default ("Wasting My Time"), Edwin ("Rush") and Sugar Jones ("How Much Longer") in the Best Cinematography category.

Hip-hop collective Baby Blue Soundcrew and reggae-rapper Snow trail OLP with five nominations split between two videos each. The Soundcrew's "Money Jane" (featuring Kardinal Offishall, Sean Paul and Jully Black) and "Love 'Em All" (featuring Choclair and Mr. Mims) will square off for Best Rap Video along with Offishall's "Bakardi Slang," Mastermind's "Bump!" and Swollen Member's "Lady Venom."

Snow's "The Plumb Song" racked up four nods, including one for Best Pop Video, while "Everybody Wants to Be Like You" is in the running for the MuchMoreMusic Award.

Nelly Furtado and Sum41, two artists who've successfully crossed the border this year with their respective albums, Whoa, Nelly! and All Killer No Filler, come in with four nominations each, including People's Choice Favorite Video by a Canadian and Best International Video nods shared by Furtado's "I'm Like a Bird" and Sum41's "Fat Lip/Pain for Pleasure." Five-girl pop group Sugar Jones also have four nominations, Best Pop Video and Best Cinematography for "How Much Longer" among them.

Other MuchMusic Video Award performers include Shaggy, Coldplay, Staind, Incubus, Outkast, B4-4, and Baby Blue Soundcrew.