Tricky, Adam Duritz Guest On Fifth Live Album, V

Alain Johannes, Glen Ballard contribute production work to September 18 release.

After toying around with calling their fifth album "Ecstatic Fanatic," Live have opted to stick with the facts — the Pennsylvania rockers' latest will be titled V when it hits stores September 18.

The 14-track album features Counting Crows frontman Adam Duritz on "Flow" and electro-witchdoctor Tricky on "Simple Creed." Frontman Ed Kowalczyk guests on a song on Tricky's latest LP, Blowback, called "Evolution Revolution Love," which the pair will perform together July 20 on "Late Night With Conan O'Brien."

Live co-produced most of V with Eleven singer/guitarist Alain Johannes, while Glen Ballard (Alanis Morissette, Dave Matthews Band) co-wrote "Forever May Not Be Long Enough" with Kowalczyk and produced the track. "Forever" also appears on the soundtrack to "The Mummy Returns," released in the spring (see "Live To Offer 'Mummy Returns' Song As Free Download"). Its accompanying video will appear on the DVD release of the film in September.

Live recently teamed with director Mark Webb (Green Day) to shoot a video for "Simple Creed," although the song might not be the album's first single, a Live publicist said.

In addition to playing the Rolling Rock Town Fair on August 4 (see "STP, Live To Headline Rolling Rock Town Fair"), Live will also play a July 27 show at the Trump Taj Mahal in Atlantic City, New Jersey, and a pair of radio festivals — WRZX-FM's XFest 2K1 on July 29 in Noblesville, Indiana, and WEBN-FM's Lunatic Fringe Fest on August 3 in Cincinnati.

The track listing for V:

  • "Intro"

  • "Simple Creed"

  • "Deep Enough"

  • "Like a Soldier"

  • "People Like You"

  • "Transmit Your Love"

  • "Forever May Not Be Long Enough"

  • "Call Me a Fool"

  • "Flow"

  • "The Ride"

  • "Nobody Knows"

  • "OK"

  • "Overcome"

  • "Hero of Love"