Spiritualized Prepare To Drop Let It Come Down

More than 100 musicians on studio follow-up to '97's Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space.

Space-rockers Spiritualized are ready to release their fourth studio LP, Let It Come Down, on September 11, according to the band's publicist.

The studio follow-up to 1997's critically acclaimed Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space took two years to record, beginning in London's Air Studios and moving to the legendary Abbey Road Studio Two when the time came to track the lush orchestral and choral arrangements saturating the album's 11 songs.

Singer/guitarist Jason Pierce wrote the album and shares production credit with guitarist/keyboardist John Coxon, who also helmed Ladies and Gentlemen in addition to his work with Everything But the Girl and Spring Heel Jack.

More than 100 musicians, including gospel and choral singers, joined Pierce, Coxon, keyboardist Thighpaulsandra, saxophonist Ray Dickaty, guitarist Doggen, bassist Martin Shellard, drummer Kevin Bales and percussionist Tom Edwards in recording the band's most ambitious effort to date.

Five brass players will supplement the lineup for a U.S. tour expected to commence in October.

Spiritualized's most recent release was the 1998 live album Royal Albert Hall October 10 1997.

Let It Come Down track list, according to Spiritualized's publicist:

  • "On Fire"

  • "Out of Sight"

  • "Don't Just Do Something"

  • "The Twelve Steps"

  • "The Straight and the Narrow"

  • "Do It All Over Again"

  • "I Didn't Mean to Hurt You"

  • "Stop Your Cryin'"

  • "Anything More"

  • "Won't Get to Heaven (The State I'm In)"

  • "Lord Can You Hear Me"