Cyndi Lauper Returns To Have More Fun With Shine

Seventh studio LP features remake of her 'Who Let in the Rain.'

The ever-unusual Cyndi Lauper will return this fall with her seventh studio album, Shine.

The trend-setting '80s icon, who turns 48 on Friday, recorded the album in Connecticut and her native New York, co-producing with longtime collaborator William Wittman. Shine, whose title track will serve as its lead single, is slated to hit shelves September 11 on Edel America Records.

The album features a new version of "Who Let in the Rain," which appeared on Lauper's Hat Full of Stars (1992).

Lauper has not made any tour plans in support of Shine, but she has a number of appearances lined up throughout the summer. She'll participate in New York Pride 2001, the nation's largest gay pride parade, on June 24, and she's scheduled to perform at a Fourth of July celebration in Boston.

The "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" singer's last release was the 1998 holiday album Merry Christmas ... Have a Nice Life.

Shyne's track listing, according to Lauper's publicist:

  • Shine

  • Hard to Be Me

  • Madonna Whore

  • Wide Open

  • Rather Be

  • Who Let in the Rain

  • Comfort You

  • Eventually

  • Valentino

  • This Kind of Love

  • Higher Plane

  • Water's Edge