Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams, Mark Knopfler On Board For Webb Pierce Tribute

Singer enlists Willie Nelson, Mark Knopfler, George Jones, Emmylou Harris, others.

NASHVILLE — Gail Davies will begin production in mid-June on Caught in a Webb, an all-star tribute album to Webb Pierce. The project will feature such luminaries as Mark Knopfler, George Jones, Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams and Dwight Yoakam.

Pierce dominated the country charts during the 1950s, outstripping such formidable competitors as Eddy Arnold, Lefty Frizzell and Jim Reeves. He died in 1991. Proceeds from the album will be given to the Minnie Pearl Cancer Foundation, Davies said. All participants are donating their services.

"Most girls grow up wanting to be Patsy Cline," Davies said. "I wanted to grow up to be Webb Pierce." Indeed, Davies' first charted single, "No Love Have I" in 1978, was a cover of Pierce's 1959 hit.

While Davies is best known as a singer and songwriter, "The Encyclopedia of Country Music" also credits her as "the first woman in country music to produce and arrange her own recordings." She says she started planning the Pierce album about three months ago. No deal has yet been struck with a record company for the album.

Davies says she hopes to release the album in October. She is also planning to stage a benefit concert around the album on Oct. 24.

Tentative tracklist for Caught in a Webb, according to Davies:

  • Willie Nelson -"That's Me Without You"

  • Lionel Cartwright - "That Heart Belongs to Me"

  • Crystal Gayle - "More and More"

  • Mandy Barnett - "Slowly"

  • Emmylou Harris - "Wondering"

  • George Jones - "Yes I Know Why"

  • Lucinda Williams - "I'm Tired"

  • Rosie Flores - "I Ain't Never"

  • Guy Clark - "Honky Tonk Song"

  • Dwight Yoakam and Debbie Pierce (Webb's daughter) - "Why Baby Why"

  • Dale Watson - "In the Jailhouse Now"

  • Billy Walker - "I Don't Care"

  • Robbie Fulks, Joy Lynn White and Jamie Johnson - "Tupelo County Jail"

  • Hank Williams III - "If You Were Me"

  • Gail Davies and Chris Scruggs - "It's Been So Long"

  • BR549 - "There Stands the Glass"

  • The Del McCoury Band - "I'm Walking the Dog"

  • Kevin Welch and Jan Howard - "Even Though"

The participating musicians are Steve Fishell, Weldon Myrick, Johnny Cox, Stu Basore, Kenny Vaughan, Pat Bergeson, Chris Nole, Rodger Morris, Rob Price, Dave Rowe, Hoot Hester, Kenny Sears, Hank Singer, Harold Bradley and the Jordanaires.