Robert Plant's Strange Sensations To Record

Former Led Zeppelin vocalist, Strange Sensations to update Zep classics, covers.

After finishing a short U.S. tour and various summer festival dates in Europe, Robert Plant will start work on a new record with his touring band, Strange Sensations. He plans to enter the recording studio in October and hopes to release the album sometime next year.

Strange Sensations consist of former Cure guitarist Porl Thompson, Sinéad O'Connor guitarist Justin Adams, Page & Plant bassist Charlie Jones, Portishead keyboardist John Baggott and Roni Size & Reprazent and Portishead drummer Clive Deamer.

Plant's manager, Honey Bianchi, said the new album will likely feature songs he's currently playing live, including updates of such Zeppelin tunes as "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You," "Misty Mountain Hop" and "Whole Lotta Love," and covers such as Billy Roberts' "Hey Joe" and Donovan's "Season of the Witch." The disc may also contain new songs, she added, though it's too early to tell. The album will be Plant's first solo release since 1993's mellow, introspective Fate of Nations. Plant plans to undertake a large U.S. tour following the record's release.

Plant also contributed guest vocals to the song "Life Begins Again" from Afro-Celt Sound System's forthcoming Volume 3: Further in Time, scheduled for June 19 release. Finally, Plant and former Led Zeppelin bandmate Jimmy Page will play together July 7 at the Montreux Jazz Festival in Montreux, Switzerland. Last year, the two recorded the Sonny Burgess song "My Bucket's Got a Hole in It" for a Sun Records tribute album due in August, but they have no immediate plans to tour or record together, Bianchi said.