Box Set Digs Up '60s Brit Nuggets

More than 100 garage bands featured on four-CD collection, featuring tunes by Small Faces, Troggs, others.

Rhino Records has compiled another box set of more than 100 obscure garage bands from the psychedelic '60s, only this time the label mined its "nuggets" exclusively overseas.

Nuggets II: Original Artyfacts From the British Empire and Beyond, a four-disc collection of tunes from 1964-69, will be released by the reissue label in June, a Rhino spokesperson said. It features tracks by such underground favorites as the Pretty Things, the Troggs and the Move alongside lesser-known artists such as the La De Das, Los Chijuas and the Masters Apprentices.

Even if some of the artists included in the multidisc gathering are recognizable, the chosen songs are culled from their most obscure works. The Small Faces offer "My Mind's Eye" and "Here Come the Nice," while the Troggs lend "Lost Girl" to the set. Other partly recognizable entries include the Guess Who's "It's My Pride" and "I Can Only Give You Everything," by Them featuring Van Morrison.

Nuggets II also includes a 100-page booklet filled with essays by Bomp! Records founder Greg Shaw and the set's co-producers, Alec Palao and Rhino executive Gary Stewart. Mike Stax, editor of retro fanzine Ugly Things, provides a song-by-song annotation.

The first Nuggets box set, Nuggets: Original Artyfacts From the First Psychedelic Era, was released in 1998 and harvested similarly cultish tracks from American garage bands including the Sonics, the 13th Floor Elevators and the Nazz.

Both sets, as well as Rhino's various single-disc collections, take their name from a 1972 double-LP compiled by rock critic/guitarist Lenny Kaye. One of the most influential rock anthologies ever released, the 27-track album revived interest in 1960s garage rock and is credited with helping set the stage for the '70s punk movement; Kaye labeled such bands as the Count Five ("Psychotic Reaction") and the Standells ("Dirty Water") as the first punk rockers. Due to licensing restrictions, the album ceased production after its initial presssing.

Track listing for Nuggets II:

Disc 1

  • The Creation, "Making Time"

  • Fire, "Father's Name Was Dad"

  • The Move, "I Can Hear the Grass Grow"

  • The Smoke, "My Friend Jam"

  • Tomorrow, "My White Bicycle"

  • The Action, "I'll Keep Holding On"

  • The Eyes, "When the Night Falls"

  • The Easybeats, "Sorry"

  • The Idle Race, "Imposters of Life's Magazine"

  • The La De Das, "How Is the Air Up There?"

  • Les Fleur de Lys, "Mud in Your Eye"

  • The Motions, "Everything (That's Mine)"

  • The Mickey Finn, "Garden of My Mind"

  • The Sorrows, "Take a Heart"

  • Q'65, "The Life I Live"

  • The Pretty Things, "Midnight to Six Man"

  • The Marmalade, "I See the Rain"

  • The Koobas, "The First Cut Is the Deepest"

  • The Mockingbirds, "You Stole My Love"

  • The Haunted, "125 (Album Version)"

  • The Small Faces, "My Mind's Eye"

  • Los Bravos, "Going Nowhere"

  • The Thoughts, "All Night Stand"

  • The Masters Apprentices, "War or Hands of Time"

  • We All Together, "It's a Sin to Go Away"

  • Kaleidoscope, "A Dream for Julie"

  • The Tages, "I Read You Like an Open Book"

Disc 2

  • The Misunderstood, "Children of the Sun"

  • Wimple Winch, "Save My Soul"

  • John's Children, "Desdemona"

  • Them, Featuring Van Morrison, "I Can Only Give You Everything"

  • The Troggs, "Lost Girl"

  • The Craig, "I Must Be Mad"

  • The Birds, "Say Those Magic Words"

  • Caleb, "Baby Your Phrasing Is Bad"

  • The Golden Ear-Rings, "Daddy Buy Me a Girl"

  • Ronnie Burns, "Exit Stage Right"

  • Timebox, "Gone Is the Sad Man"

  • The Eyes, "I'm Rowed Out"

  • David Jones & The Lower Third, "You've Got a Habit of Leaving"

  • Rupert's People, "Reflections of Charles Brown"

  • The Mascots, "Words Enough to Tell You"

  • The Poets, "That's the Way It's Got to Be"

  • The Syn, "14 Hour Technicolour Dream"

  • The Pretty Things, "Walking Through My Dreams"

  • The Primitives, "You Said"

  • The Lost Souls, "This Life of Mine"

  • The Action, "Shadows & Reflections"

  • The Easybeats, "Friday on My Mind"

  • Love Sculpture, "In the Land of the Few"

  • The Motions, "For Another Man"

  • The Move, "Fire Brigade"

  • The Boots, "Gaby"

  • The Creation, "Biff! Bang! Pow!"

Disc 3

  • Cuby & the Blizzards, "Your Body Not Your Soul"

  • The Twilights, "Cathy, Come Home"

  • Les Fleur de Lys, "Circles"

  • The Matadors, "Get Down From the Tree (Album Version)"

  • Q'65, "Cry in the Night"

  • Los Chijuas, "Changing the Colors of Life"

  • The Bluestars, "Social End Product"

  • The Syndicats, "Crawdaddy Simone"

  • The Sound Magics, "Don't You Remember?"

  • The Guess Who, "It's My Pride"

  • The Open Mind, "Magic Potion"

  • The Missing Links, "You're Driving Me Insane"

  • The Jury, "Who Dat?"

  • John's Children, "A Midsummer's Night Scene"

  • Sands, "Listen to the Sky"

  • The Mockingbirds, "How to Find a Lover"

  • The Idle Race, "Days of the Broken Arrows"

  • The Elois, "By My Side"

  • The Factory, "Path Through the Forest"

  • Episode Six, "Love Hate Revenge"

  • The Status Quo, "Pictures of Matchstick Men"

  • The Voice, "The Train to Disaster"

  • The (Australian) Playboys, "Sad" -

  • The Slaves, "Slaves Time"

  • The Red Squares, "You Can Be My Baby (Single Version)"

  • Scrugg, "I Wish I Was Five"

  • The Downliners Sect, "Glendora"

Disc 4

  • The Pretty Things, "Rosalyn"

  • The Atlantics, "Come On"

  • Dantalion's Chariot, "The Madman Running Through the Fields"

  • The Creation, "How Does It Feel to Feel (U.S. Single Version)"

  • The Mops, "I'm Just a Mops"

  • The Downliners Sect, "Why Don't You Smile Now"

  • The Ugly Ducklings, "Nothin' "

  • Los Shakers, "Break It All (U.S. Single Version)"

  • Timon, "The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane"

  • The Outsiders, "Touch"

  • Tintern Abbey, "Vacuum Cleaner"

  • Thor's Hammer, "My Life"

  • The Wheels, "Bad Little Woman"

  • Pandamonium, "No Presents for Me"

  • Os Mutantes, "Bat Macumba"

  • Winston's Fumbs, "Real Crazy Apartment"

  • The Smoke (Nz), "No More Now"

  • The Birds, "No Good Without You"

  • The Zipps, "Kicks & Chicks"

  • The Acid Gallery, "Dance Around the Maypole"

  • The Fairies, "Get Yourself Home"

  • The Chants R&B, "I'm Your Witchdoctor"

  • The Boots, "But You'll Never Do It Babe"

  • The Majority, "One Third"

  • Kaleidoscope, "Flight From Ashiya"

  • The Small Faces, "Here Come the Nice"

  • The Rattles, "It's My Fault"

  • Blossom Toes, "When the Alarm Clock Rings"