U2 Refurbishes "Sweetest Thing" For "Best Of" Record

More details have emerged about the new U2 retrospective, "U2 The Best of 1980-1990," due out on November 3, including plans to release a new single from a re-tooled B-side.

The group recently headed back into the studio with producer Steve Lillywhite to enhance the old track, "Sweetest Thing," by adding new vocals and instrumentation. The song was originally recorded as part of sessions for "The Joshua Tree," but was relegated to the flip side of the "Where the Streets Have No Name" single when "Thing" couldn't be completed in time to make the album.

U2 plans to release the revamped version of "Sweetest Thing" as a new single on September 29.

As we previously reported (see "U2 Signs Pricey Deal For Best Of Albums") the new 14-track record is the first in a pair of "greatest hits" albums from the band. "U2 The Best of 1980-1990" will be available at a reduced cost its first week in stores as a limited edition double-CD,

in which it will be packaged with a 15-track compilation of other B-sides taken from the U2's '80s singles.

The complete track listing for "The Best of 1980-1990" is as follows:

  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Bad"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "Desire"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "When Love Comes to Town"
  • "Sweetest Thing"
  • "All I Want is You"