U2 Pens New Songs For "The Million Dollar Hotel" Soundtrack

U2 has contributed a pair of new songs to the soundtrack to Wim Wenders' upcoming film, "The Million Dollar Hotel," based upon a story written by band frontman Bono and Nicholas Klein.

The Dublin band has penned a new song, entitled "Stateless," for the album, which will also include "The Ground Beneath Her Feet," a number U2 collaborated on last year with author Salman Rushdie (see "U2 Co-Writes Song With Salman Rushdie").

"The First Time," which appeared on U2's 1993 LP "Zooropa," will also be on the soundtrack, due out on Interscope Records on March 14.

In addition to the U2 cuts, Bono has written three other songs with members of The Million Dollar Hotel Band, an ad hoc group featuring longtime U2 producers Daniel Lanois (guitar and piano) and Brian Eno (synthesizer), guitarist Bill Frisell, and drummer Brian Blade.

Rounding out The Million Dollar Hotel Band are renowned trumpeter Jon Hassell, bassist

Greg Cohen (who played with Tom Waits throughout the '80s), and programmer Adam Zorn.

Actress and occasional musician Milla Jovovich provides vocals on another track, a cover version of Lou Reed's glam-era single "Satellite Of Love" (see "Milla Jovovich On The Bono-Mick Jagger Connection").

"The Million Dollar Hotel" stars Jovovich, Jeremy Davies, and Mel Gibson, as well as a cameo appearance by Bono. The film will make its premiere at the Berlin Film Festival on February 9, and then arrive on U.S. screens a few months later. U2 is continuing to work on its new album with Lanois and Eno, and the record is expected to be released later this year.

The song listing for "The Million Dollar Hotel" soundtrack:

  • U2 with Daniel Lanois - "The Ground Beneath Her Feet"
  • Bono and The Million Dollar Hotel Band - "Never Let Me Go"
  • U2 - "Stateless"
  • Milla Jovovich with The MDH Band - "Satellite Of Love"

  • Bono and Daniel Lanois - "Falling At Your Feet"
  • The MDH Band - "Tom Tom's Dream"
  • U2 - "The First Time"
  • The MDH Band - "Bathtub"
  • Daniel Lanois and The MDH Band - "The First Time (Reprise)"
  • Brad Mehldau with Bill Frisell - "Tom Tom's Room"
  • The MDH Band - "Funny Face"
  • Bono and The MDH Band - "Dancin' Shoes"
  • Jon Hassell, Gregg Arreguin, Jamie Muhoberac and Peter Freeman - "Amsterdam Blue (Cortege)"
  • The MDH Band - "Satellite Of Love (Reprise)"
  • Milla Jovovich with Jon Hassell and Danny Saber - "Satellite Of Love (Danny Saber Remix)"
  • Tito Larriva and The MDH Band - "Anarchy In The U.S.A."