Blink-182, Silverchair Gets Hardcore

The latest single from Silverchair's "Neon Ballroom" album is "Miss You Love," and if you find a copy of the Australian CD single in the import racks, you'll see there are a few notable bonus tracks included on it.

The group recorded three new covers as b-sides for the CD single: Minor Threat's "Minor Threat" and Black Flag's "Fix Me" and "Wasted." The recording session lasted about as long as it takes to listen to the songs."

Silverchair frontman Daniel Johns told the MTV Radio Network that the band recorded the three punk tracks because "They were just some of my favorite songs, and we've always liked playing them live, and we decided to record them. I think we recorded all three of them in, like, ten minutes in the studio, and we were really happy with the way they turned out, so we put them on the single." [RealAudio]

While checking the import racks for the "Miss You Love" single, Silverchair fans should also check

for the special "Tour Edition" of "Neon Ballroom," a double CD multimedia package which contains "Inside The Neon Ballroom," a documentary directed by Robert Hambling, featuring behind-the-scenes footage of the making of the album, plus performances, interviews, and more.

Meanwhile, if you're looking to see Silverchair in person, the band will soon be kicking off a tour with Blink-182 (see "Blink-182, Silverchair Set Tour Dates; Blink's Delonge Talks Brevity"'s where you can catch them:

  • 11/2 - Mesa, AZ @ Mesa Amphitheater
  • 11/3 - San Luis Obispo, CA @ Cal-Poly Event Center
  • 11/4 - San Jose, CA @ San Jose Arena
  • 11/5 - Los Angeles, CA @ Universal Amphitheater
  • 11/8 - Minneapolis, MN @ Roy Wilkins Auditorium
  • 11/10 - Toronto, ON @ Maple Leaf Gardens
  • 11/12 - Lowell, MA @ Tsongas Arena
  • 11/13 - New York, NY @ Roseland
  • 11/14 - Asbury Park, NJ @ Convention Center
  • 11/16 - Philadelphia,

    PA @ Electric Factory

  • 11/18 - Orlando, FL @ UCF Arena
  • 11/19 - Jacksonville, FL @ Riverview Music Shed