Rage Against The Machine To Roll Out Renegades

Rage Against the Machine will release a collection of cover songs — their first new material since the departure of frontman Zack de la Rocha — on Dec. 5, according to Epic Records.

The 12 songs on Renegades were recorded before de la Rocha left the group earlier this month. The collection will include the group's covers of such rap, punk and classic-rock songs as Eric B & Rakim's "Microphone Fiend," Devo's "Beautiful World" and Cypress Hill's "How I Could Just Kill a Man." The album will also feature tracks from the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Minor Threat, EPMD, the MC5, the Stooges, Volume 10 and Afrika Bambaataa getting the Rage treatment.

De la Rocha said he left the group because its "decision-making process has completely failed" (see "UPDATE: Zack Leaves Rage Against The Machine").

The band spent a portion of the months leading up to the singer's departure recording what guitarist

Tom Morello has called "radically different" versions of the tracks found on Renegades. "I hate to call them covers, but we take the lyrics from other songs and write brand new Rage Against the Machine tracks underneath," Morello said in September of the Rick Rubin-produced covers (see "Rage Against The Machine Covers Dylan, Devo, Cypress Hill").

The full track listing for Renegades is: "Microphone Fiend" (Eric B & Rakim), "Pistol Grip Pump" (Volume 10), "Kick Out the Jams" (MC5), "Renegades of Funk" (Afrika Bambaataa), "Beautiful World" (Devo), "I'm Housin' " (EPMD), "In My Eyes" (Minor Threat), "How I Could Just Kill a Man" (Cypress Hill), "The Ghost of Tom Joad" (Bruce Springsteen), "Down on the Street" (Stooges), "Street Fighting Man" (Rolling Stones) and "Maggie's Farm" (Bob Dylan).

VMAs 2018