Bono And Sting To Receive Rock The Vote Awards

U2's Bono and Sting have been named as the winners of this year's Rock The Vote Patrick Lippert Awards, being presented on February 22 at the House of Blues in Los Angeles.

"Politically Incorrect" host Bill Maher will emcee the event, which will feature performances from Moby and Macy Gray and will also celebrate the 10th anniversary of Rock The Vote (see "Moby, Macy Gray To Perform For Rock The Vote Awards").

Bono, a long time political and social activist, will be honored for his most recent work on behalf of such groups as Amnesty International, Jubilee 2000, and NetAid. Because of his continued work on the new U2 album, Bono is currently expected to receive the Patrick Lippert award via remote.

Sting will be on hand for the ceremony, where he will be recognized and feted for both his environmental pursuits as well as his endeavors for the indigenous people of the Brazilian rain forests.

Jody Williams,

who won the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize for leading the International Campaign to Ban Landmines, will present Sting with his Patrick Lippert Award.

President Clinton will follow in his wife's footsteps in receiving the second Rock The Nation Award, which he will accept via videotape. Last year, first lady (and current senatorial candidate) Hillary Rodham Clinton was presented with the first Rock The Nation award (see "Wyclef Jean, Neil Young, Beck, Stevie Wonder, George Clinton Celebrate 1999 Rock The Vote Awards").

Recording Industry Association Of America CEO Hillary Rosen will also be honored at the event, receiving the Founders Award for her continued commitment in supporting the Rock The Vote organization.