Shawn Mullins To Release Compilation, Plans Tour

Shawn Mullins will be releasing a career-spanning compilation next month.

The previous sentence may inspire snickers in some and confusion in others; after all, this is a guy who gained his first national exposure a little over a year ago via his hit "Lullaby."

Mullins, however, is no newcomer, having spent a decade as an independent label artist before "Lullaby" garnered him major label interest. "Soul's Core," featuring that hit single, was originally released on Mullins' own SMG Records before it was scooped up by Columbia Records and re-released in September of last year.

Also included on the collection will be three of Mullins' post-"Soul's Core" recordings: his cover of George Harrison's "What Is Life" (from the "Big Daddy" soundtrack), his cover of David Bowie's "Changes" (from "The Faculty" soundtrack) and a new recording of Mullins' 1994 song "Lately" (see "Layne Staley, Tom Morello, Others Cover Pink Floyd For Soundtrack;

Offspring, Shawn Mullins, More Contribute").

Mullins will be supporting "The First Ten Years" with a brief tour, and here's where you can catch him:

  • 10/29 - Durham, NC @ Duke University
  • 11/2 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Café
  • 11/14 - Seattle, WA @ King Cat Theatre
  • 11/15 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
  • 11/16 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
  • 11/17 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Zephyr Club
  • 11/18 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre & Café
  • 11/19 - Denver, CO @ Fillmore (opening for the Indigo Girls)
  • 11/24 - Atlanta, GA @ Tabernacle
  • 11/27 - Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle