Smashing Pumpkins Tap Mellencamp Violinist For Tour

In a move that seems to bolster Billy Corgan's assertion that the next album from Smashing Pumpkins will feature a more arcane sound than the band's past bombastic efforts, the Pumpkins have tapped former John Mellencamp violinist and singer Lisa Germano to tour with them.

Germano, who has recorded several acclaimed solo albums, will join another Mellencamp grad, drummer Kenny Aronoff, on the Pumpkins upcoming tour.

The addition of Germano to the band's touring troupe is just the latest bit of last- minute business the Pumpkins are wrapping up before launching their new album this summer. As we first reported yesterday, the band has set a release date (June 2) and a track listing for the album, titled "Adore." Once again, here's a list of the songs that will be featured on "Adore":

  • "To Sheila"
  • "Ava Adore"
  • "Perfect"
  • "Daphne Descends"
  • "Once Upon A Time"
  • "Tear"
  • "Crestfallen"

  • "Appels + Oranjes"
  • "Pug"
  • "The Tale of Dusty and Pistol Pete"
  • "Annie-Dog"
  • "Shame"
  • "Behold! The Night Mare"
  • "For Martha"
  • "Blank Page"