Korn Fills Apollo With New Sounds, Rabid Fans, And V.I.P.s

Nothing about Korn's album release show Monday night in New York was ordinary.

From the choice of venue (which saw the band bring its brand of new-jack metal into Harlem's famed Apollo Theater) to the crowd (which boasted a wealth of V.I.P.s such as Limp Bizkit frontman Fred Durst, Sean "Puffy" Combs, Busta Rhymes, Matt Pinfield, and comedian Chris Rock), this was far from business as usual.

Set on the eve of the release of the group's new album, "Issues," the show saw Korn unveil its new material live in the exact order it will be found on the CD. The new sounds fell on appreciative ears as the fans who made the pilgrimage to 125th Street seemed thirsty for fresh music from the band. Whistling and screaming rose from the crowd long before the band took the stage, and the appearance of the Pipes & Drums of the Police Department of the City of New York Emerald Society before the show prompted howls of support.

Perhaps inspired by Pipes & Drums corps (which joined the

band for the first song of the night, "Dead"), frontman Jonathan Davis sported a formal kilt ensemble. Standing amid a cramped stage set lit by candles and lava lamps, Davis led the band through a set (and an album) that seems more groove-oriented, but by no means more subdued than previous Korn fare.

The whole affair was carried live on Korn.com, but if you missed the webcast, here's how the set list (and the album's track listing) looked:

  • "Dead"
  • "Falling Away From Me"
  • "Trash"
  • "4U"
  • "Beg For Me"
  • "Make Me Bad"
  • "It's Gonna Go Away"
  • "Wake Up"
  • "Am I Going Crazy"
  • "Hey Daddy"
  • "Somebody Someone"
  • "No Way"
  • "Let's Get This Party Started"
  • "Wish That You Could Be Me"
  • "Counting"
  • "Dirty"