Primus' Les Claypool, Frogwings To Play Jammys

Primus' Les Claypool and Frogwings -- a group featuring the Allman Brothers' Butch and Derek Trucks, as well as Edwin McCain -- are among the artists set to perform at the first annual Jammys, an awards ceremony celebrating jam music being held on June 22 in New York City.

The Disco Biscuits, John Scofield, The New Deal, Deep Banana Blackout, The Slip, Soulive, and Strangefolk will also take the stage that night at Irving Plaza and will play songs from artists being inducted into the Jammys Hall Of Fame, including Jimi Hendrix, The Grateful Dead, and Miles Davis.

The awards show is being sponsored by and will honor winners in such categories as Best Studio Release, New Groove Of The Year, Road Tripper Of The Year, Best Live Album, and Jam Of The Year, among others (see "Jam Bands Get Their Own 'Jammy' Awards").

Jammy winners will be determined by a panel of industry experts, an online poll

at, and voting by the musicians themselves.

After the presentation of the Jammys, an after-show party will be held at the Wetlands Preserve, the venue where most jam bands tend to play when their tours roll into New York City.

Additional performers and honorees are expected to be announced in the next few days, and for more about the inaugural event, as well as ticket information, check out the special Jammys section of