Spice Girls Schedule Chat, Halliwell Deal Confirmed

The Spice Girls, or at least Mel C and Emma, are scheduled to appear in a live online chat on Wednesday (October 21) at the Virgin Music Group site, http://c3.vmg.co.uk/spicegirls.

The event is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. London time, which translates to 11:30 a.m in New York and 8:30 a.m. in Los Angeles. Participants are being encouraged to submit questions in advance at the site, but they can also ask questions once the chat is underway.

Meanwhile, the British trade publication "Dot Music" confirms that solo Spice Geri Halliwell has signed a long term recording contract with an EMI group company, although they can't confirm that the specific label is Chrysalis. "Dot" reports that Halliwell's publicists confirmed the deal in a statement issued late Friday.

The statement said in part, "After four months of speculation as to her future plans (Halliwell) is now back in the recording studio working on solo material.

Fans can expect her first release in the new year."