KRS-One, Schoolly D, Guru Tapped For "Once In The Life"

KRS-One, Guru from Gang Starr, Schoolly D, Black Sheep, and Vernon Reid are among the artists that have contributed new or unreleased songs to the soundtrack for "Once In The Life," an upcoming film starring and being directed by Laurence Fishburne.

KRS-One's cut, "Shutupa Yo' Face," will mark his first solo release since the 1997 LP "I Got Next." In the interim, the former Boogie Down Productions frontman has mostly made guest appearances on other artists' records, including Snoop Dogg's "Da Game Is To Be Sold, Not To Be Told," and Digital Underground's "Who Got The Gravy?" KRS-One has also logged time as an A&R rep for Reprise Records.

For the "Once In The Life" LP, Guru has teamed up with the Brand New Heavies' N'Dea Davenport on "Choices," while rapper Roscoe -- otherwise known as Kurupt's younger brother -- has hooked up with Bon Jovi guitarist Richie Sambora for a hip-hip version of "Ballad Of Youth," a song that originally appeared on Sambora's 1991 solo album,

"Stranger In This Town."

The soundtrack for "Once In The Life" is due out on Antra records in April, while the film is tentatively due to arrive on screens in the late spring or early summer. The movie is being produced by The Shooting Gallery, the same company that handled "Sling Blade," "Niagara, Niagara," and "Dee Snider's Strangeland."

"Once In The Life" is based on Fishburne's recent off-Broadway play, "Riff Raff," about a heist gone wrong, and also features Gregory Hines, Paul Calderon, and Sue Costello.

The full track listing for the "Once In The Life" album:

  • Nuyorican Soul - "Nautilus"
  • The Spooks - "The Things I've Seen"
  • Zap Mama - "Rofiki (Remix)"
  • The Congregation - "Train Whistle"
  • Vernon Reid - "Fearless Misery"
  • Buckshot LeFonque - "Breakfast @ Denny's"
  • Roscoe featuring Richie Sambora - "Ballad Of Youth"
  • Latin Frozz - "No Dinero, No Respecto"
  • Big Pimpin' - "Livin' It Up"
  • Guru with N'Dea Davenport

    and Bobbi Humphrey - "Choices"

  • Kevin Sandbloom - "Home"
  • Schoolly D - "Yes, Yes Y'all"
  • Black Sheep - "Once In The Life"
  • Glenn Scott - "Without Vertigo"
  • KRS-One - "Shutupa Yo' Face"