Goo Goo Dolls Honored At Music Industry Event

Goo Goo Dolls frontman John Rzeznik won the Song Of The Year prize during ASCAP's 17th annual Pop Awards ceremony, held on Monday in Los Angeles.

The ceremony, a black tie event, was hosted by the performing rights organization to honor songwriters whose works have received the most airplay during the last twelve months.

During the event, Christina Aguilera performed a heartfelt rendition of Etta James' song "At Last," while Jewel performed her recent hit, "Hands," and a new song titled, "Break Me."

In addition to the Rzeznik-penned Goo Goo Dolls hit "Slide" being named Song Of The Year, songwriter Max Martin, who has written numbers for Britney Spears, 'NSYNC, and the Backstreet Boys, was named Songwriter Of The Year for the second time in a row.

Veteran jazz-rock duo Steely Dan, meanwhile, received ASCAP's lifetime achievement award.

The Goo Goo Dolls recently performed their hit "Broadway" during this year's World Music

Awards ceremony (see "'NSYNC, Goo Goo Dolls, McKnight To Wango Tango"). "The 2000 World Music Awards" will be televised Monday, May 29 on ABC starting at 8 p.m. (ET).