Doors Tribute With Manson, STP, More Due In Summer

It looks like the years-in-the-works Doors tribute album may finally see the light of day this summer, and when it surfaces, Marilyn Manson, Stone Temple Pilots, Creed, and Smash Mouth will be among the artists on board.

Doors guitarist Robby Krieger, who guests on most of the tracks on the album, told MTV News this week that the long-awaited project will finally arrive this summer.

Word of the tribute album first surfaced in January of 1998, when Smash Mouth spoke with the MTV Radio Network about reworking the Doors' nugget "Peace Frog" (see "Smash Mouth Does The Lizard King For Tribute Album"). Later that same year, Creed told MTV News that they would be on board as well.

Now Krieger confirms that contributions from both bands will make the final cut, as well as Marilyn Manson's cover of "Five To One" and Stone Temple Pilots' rendition of "Break On Through." Other confirmed acts include The Cult, Aerosmith,

Chrissie Hynde, Oleander, Bo Diddley, and John Lee Hooker with the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea on "Roadhouse Blues." Iggy Pop is also in talks to appear on the album with a cover of "L.A. Woman."

While many of the tracks are new, some (such as Aerosmith's cover of "Love Me Two Times" which appeared on the 1990 soundtrack to "Air America") have turned up elsewhere.

When the album surfaces this summer, here's what you're likely to find:

  • Marilyn Manson - "Five To One"
  • Stone Temple Pilots - "Break On Through"
  • Creed - "Riders On The Storm"
  • Smash Mouth - "Peace Frog"
  • John Lee Hooker with Flea - "Roadhouse Blues"
  • The Cult - "Wild Child"
  • Travis Meeks (of Days Of The New) with The Doors' John Densmore - "The End"
  • Bo Diddley - "Love Her Madly"
  • Chrissie Hynde - "Touch Me"
  • Oleander - "Hello, I Love You"
  • Aerosmith - "Love Me Two Times"