Deftones Tackle Sade, "Return Of The Rock" CD

It's no surprise that the Deftones will soon be sharing liner-note space with Godsmack, Papa Roach, Marilyn Manson, Nickelback, and others on the sequel to this year's "The Return Of The Rock" compilation from MTV and Roadrunner Records.

But it may be more surprising that the Deftones have recently crossed their brooding brand of hard rock with the sound of smooth soul songstress Sade.

The CD-single release of the group's "Change (In The House Of Flies)" is currently available in the U.S. only as an import, but those who come across it will find the band working through a cover of Sade's "No Ordinary Love." After scoring in the late '80s with hits like "Smooth Operator" and "The Sweetest Taboo," Sade released the song on her 1992 album "Love Deluxe," and the Deftones revisited the track during sessions for their "White Pony" album.

"It was the last song we recorded when we were in the studio," frontman Chino

Moreno told MTV Radio of the eerily spot-on cover. "I just wanted to save it for a soundtrack or something, because it came out really good. It's really close to the actual, original song. We didn't want to try and make it all heavy metal or anything like that. It's really, really ambient, and I added a bunch of different guitar lines that aren't even in the song itself. It's real moody sounding and dark."

In taking Sade's song into darker territory, the Deftones enlisted the aid of Far singer Jonah Sonz Matranga for backup.

"He actually sang on the acoustic version of 'Be Quiet And Drive' with me, and we covered a Jawbox song together for one of their EPs, and I think our voices really compliment each other," Moreno explained. "It was a really good idea to have him come down, and it came out really well." [RealAudio]

In a project

that will make a bit more sense to straight-on headbangers, the Deftones are also kicking in a track for "The Return Of The Rock, Volume 2" compilation, which is due to hit stores on November 7. A specific track listing has yet to be firmed up, but the Deftones will be joining Godsmack, Papa Roach, Marilyn Manson, Orgy, Disturbed, Nickelback, Spineshank, and others on the album.