Willie Nelson, Woody Guthrie, Clive Davis, Others To Be Honored By Recording Academy

The National Academy Of Recording Arts & Sciences will honor country icon Willie Nelson, calypso king Harry Belafonte, folk great Woody Guthrie, and bluesman John Lee Hooker with Lifetime Achievement Awards before next year's Grammy Awards ceremony.

Recording Academy CEO Michael Greene announced this year's honorees on Monday and noted that the winners will be acknowledged when the Grammy Awards are handed out next year.

Greene also announced that conductor/producer/executive Mitch Miller, producer Phil Spector, and Arista Records president and founder Clive Davis will be honored with Trustees Awards this time around.

The honor comes as Davis finds his future at Arista in doubt as rumors circulate that Arista's parent company, BMG Entertainment, wants Davis to retire when his contract expires next year. Davis has said that he has no plans to retire, and artists such as Whitney Houston, Carlos Santana, and songwriter Diane Warren have voiced their support

of Davis (see "Arista Artists Support Label Head Clive Davis").

-- Robert Mancini