RockFest Adds Citizen King; Plans Spin-Off Tour With Marvelous 3, Smash Mouth

Organizers for next weekend's RockFest in Atlanta have just added Citizen King to the concert's lineup and have unveiled plans for a brief spin-off tour featuring Smash Mouth and Marvelous 3.

RockFest '99 had been looking for an act or two to replace the New Radicals, which quietly dropped off the bill a few weeks ago (see "New Radicals Cancel RockFest Appearance"). Stepping in will be Citizen King, who is still enjoying an alternative radio hit with "Better Days (And the Bottom Drops Out)."

Newcomers Taxiride will also appear at the inaugural edition of RockFest, which is scheduled for June 5 at the Atlanta Motor Speedway. The event will feature sets from The Offspring, Everlast, Collective Soul, Eve 6, and Live, among others (see "The Offspring, Sugar Ray, Mighty Mighty Bosstones To March Through Georgia For RockFest").

In late June, promoters for RockFest plan to launch a mini-tour

with Marvelous 3, Smash Mouth, and another, as-yet-undetermined band. The outing is designed to bridge the gap between RockFest '99 and next year's show.

The first set of dates for the RockFest concert series:

  • 6/23 - San Antonio, TX @ Sunken Gardens
  • 6/27 - Denver, CO @ Mile High Stadium Parking Lot
  • 7/25 - Atlantic City, NJ @ Gardener's Basin Park
  • 7/31 - Cleveland, OH @ Riverview Parking Lot
  • 8/1 - St. Louis, MO @ Union Station Parking Lot