Puffy, Stoute Come Together To Announce Source Award Nominees; DMX Leads Pack

DMX led the pack when the nominees for this year's Source Hip-Hop Music Awards were announced on Tuesday, but he may have been upstaged by two of the presenters.

Sean "Puffy" Combs and the man he stands accused of beating, Interscope Records exec Steve Stoute, were on hand and even joined together to announce some of the nominees. Combs was arrested in April when police claimed that Combs took part in an attack on Stoute in his office at Interscope (see "Sean 'Puffy' Combs Arrested In Nas Video Assault Incident"). However, the two seemed to have put that behind them on Tuesday.

"I'm going to need a little help with this, so I'm going to invite a friend and a fellow mogul to help me with this one," [RealVideo] Puffy said when inviting Stoute to the podium to help him. Combs and Stoute were joined by Mary J. Blige, Tyson Beckford, and Queen Latifah when the nominees were announced Tuesday

morning at New York's Peninsula Hotel.

DMX came out in front of the field with five nominations, scoring nods for Artist of the Year Solo, Album of the Year, Lyricist of the Year, Live Performer of the Year, and Single of the Year for his work with Jayo Felony on "Whatcha Gonna Do."

Busta Rhymes and Outkast each earned four nominations, while Redman and Jay-Z were close behind with three nods apiece. Busta landed two of his nominations for Video of the Year, and he'll also vie for Artist of the Year Solo and Live Performer of the Year. Outkast will be up for Artist of the Year Group, Album of the Year, Live Performer of the Year, and Lyricist of the Year for the group's Dre.

While the nominees announced Tuesday will have to wait until the awards are handed out in Los Angeles on August 18 to find out if they are winners (the show will then be broadcast on UPN on August 20), some folks are already guaranteed a trophy. Russell Simmons will be picking up a Lifetime Achievement

Award, Shaquille O'Neal will be named The Source Sports Athlete of the Year, and Kool DJ Herc, Afrika Bambaataa, and Grandmaster Flash will walk away with Pioneer Awards.

Here's how the field of nominees for the 1999 Source Hip-Hop Music Awards looks:

    Artist of the Year, Solo
  • Jay-Z (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam)
  • DMX (Def Jam)
  • Master P (No Limit/Priority)
  • Busta Rhymes (Elektra)
  • Snoop Dogg (No Limit/Priority) Artist of the Year, Group
  • Outkast (LaFace/Arista)
  • The Roots (MCA/Universal)
  • A Tribe Called Quest (Jive)
  • Gang Starr (Noo Trybe/Virgin)
  • Goodie M.O.B. (LaFace/Arista) New Artist of the Year, Solo
  • Big Pun (Loud/RCA)
  • Lauryn Hill (Ruffhouse/Columbia)
  • Juvenile (Cash Money/Universal)
  • Noreaga (Penalty/Tommy Boy)
  • Eminem (Aftermath/Interscope) New Artist of the Year, Group
  • Lord Tariq & Peter Gunz (Codeine/Columbia)
  • Black Star (Rawkus)
  • Flipmode Squad (Elektra)

  • Harlem World (So So Def/Columbia)
  • Black Eyed Peas (Interscope) Single of the Year
  • "Can I Get A... " - Jay-Z w/Ja Rule & Amil (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam)
  • "Ha" - Juvenile (Cash Money/Universal)
  • "Still Not A Player" - Big Pun w/Joe (Loud/RCA)
  • "Whatcha Gonna Do" - Jayo Felony w/DMX & Method Man (Def Jam)
  • "It Ain't My Fault" - Silkk The Shocker (No Limit/Priority)
  • "Money Ain't A Thing" - Jermaine Dupri w/Jay-Z (So So Def/Columbia) Album of the Year
  • Jay-Z, "Vol. 2... Hard Knock Life" (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam)
  • DMX, "It's Dark and Hell is Hot" (Def Jam)
  • Outkast, "Aquemini" (LaFace/Arista)
  • 8Ball, "Lost" (Suave House/Universal)
  • Lauryn Hill, "The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill" (Ruffhouse/Columbia)
  • Master P, "MP Da Last Don" (No Limit/Priority) Lyricist of the Year
  • Big Pun (Loud/RCA)
  • DMX (Def Jam)
  • Jay-Z (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam)
  • Redman (Def Jam)
  • Dre of Outkast (LaFace/Arista) Producer

    of the Year

  • Swizz Beats
  • Beats By The Pound
  • Track Masters/L.E.S.
  • DJ Premier
  • DJ Scratch R&B Artist of the Year
  • TLC (LaFace/Arista)
  • R. Kelly (Jive)
  • Mya (University/Interscope)
  • Brandy (Atlantic)
  • Dru Hill (Island) Video of the Year
  • "I'll Bee Dat" - Redman, directed by Little X (Def Jam)
  • "What U See" - Xzibit, directed by Gregory Dark (Loud/RCA)
  • "Turn It Up" - Busta Rhymes, directed by Paul Hunter (Elektra)
  • "Is It You? (Deja vu)" - Made Men w/ Master P, directed by Dave Meyers (Restless)
  • "What's It Gonna Be" - Busta Rhymes w/Janet Jackson, directed by Hype Williams (Elektra) Live Performer of the Year
  • Outkast (LaFace/Arista)
  • Busta Rhymes (Elektra)
  • DMX (Def Jam)
  • Method Man/Redman (Def Jam)
  • The Roots (MCA/Universal) Movie of the Year
  • "The Player's Club" (New Line)
  • "I Got The Hook-Up" (No Limit)
  • "Belly" (Artisan)
  • "He Got Game" (Touchstone)

Lifetime Achievement Award - Russell Simmons Pioneer Award - Kool DJ Herc, Afrika Bambaataa, Grandmaster Flash The Source Sports Athlete of the Year Award - Shaquille O'Neal