Puffy Taps Jay-Z, Busta Rhymes, R. Kelly, Mase, Nas For New LP

With Sean "Puffy" Combs' court date for his assault case pushed back until early August, the Bad Boy Records CEO can now focus on completing his new record, "Forever," due out on August 24.

More info is beginning to come to light about the new Puffy album, the follow-up to 1997's multi-platinum "No Way Out," as Combs has enlisted an all-star cast of hip-hop artists for the record, including Jay-Z, Bizzy Bone, Busta Rhymes, R. Kelly, Mase, 112, Nas, Faith Evans, Lil' Kim, Cee-Lo from Goodie M.O.B., and Kelly Price, among others.

Jay-Z is featured on "Go," a track co-produced by Daven Vanderpool, while Bizzy Bone weighs in on "Angels with Dirty Faces, " a song built around a bass sample from Earth, Wind & Fire's "Fantasy."

Busta Rhymes drops his mad flow on "Reverse," a track Busta co-wrote with Puffy that also features vocals from Cee-Lo. R&B crooner R. Kelly provides the call-out hook for another song, "Satisfy," and 112 gets into the act with Ronald Isley on "Lay Your Troubles


Kelly Price is featured on "Get Off (I'll Do This For You)," a song described by the rapper's label as an "uptempo Bad Boy party number," and Faith Evans, the widow of Puffy's good friend and mentor, the late Notorious B.I.G., comes out for another track, "Who Do It Better."

Other tracks on "Forever" include the Christopher Cross-sampled "My Best Friend," and "Is This the End, Pt. 2," a sequel of sorts to a track that originally appeared on "No Way Out."

As we previously reported (see "Reports Of Settlement Loom As Puffy Reworks Public Enemy For New Video"), the first single from "Forever" will be "PE 2000," a remake of Public Enemy's "Public Enemy No. 1," a cut from the venerable rap group's 1987 debut, "Yo! Bum Rush the Show."

Puffy's "PE 2000" single is expected to arrive in stores the week after the Fourth of July holiday.