Roots, Black Star, Common, More For "The Hurricane"

The Roots, Black Star, Common, K-Ci & JoJo, and others will be gracing the soundtrack to the much heralded film "The Hurricane" come January.

The movie, directed by Norman Jewison and starring Denzel Washington, tells the story of boxer Rubin "The Hurricane" Carter who was wrongfully imprisoned for 19 years on a triple murder charge and immortalized in song by Bob Dylan.

The Roots along with Common and Mos Def have covered the Dylan track for the film, and according to music supervisor G. Marq Roswell, their version of "Hurricane" bears little resemblance to the original.

Mos Def and his Black Star partner Talib Kweli have themselves reworked a classic for the venture: Gil Scott-Heron's "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised," which appears as a new song called "Little Brother." (Scott-Heron's version is also included on the soundtrack.)

Other highlights include a new self-penned song by K-Ci & JoJo inspired by the movie, a contribution from Me'Shell N'degeocello,

and a new track from the duo of Melky and Sedeck Jean, the younger brother and sister of Wyclef Jean.

Roswell told MTV News that he was unable to land Dylan himself for the project, though Dylan's original performance of the tune that brought attention to Carter's plight will be included.

Another group that won't be heard either in the movie or on the CD is Boyz II Men. The group recorded a song called "So Amazing" for the project, but the tune's author, Clark Anderson, elected to perform the track himself and declined to grant the band the appropriate rights.

The soundtrack is scheduled for release January 11, while the movie will hit theaters in Los Angeles and New York for a brief run December 28 before going wide on January 14.

The track listing for the soundtrack to "The Hurricane:"

  • The Roots, Common, Mos Def - "Hurricane"
  • Black Star - "Little Brother"
  • Kelly Price, Aaron Hall - "Love Sets You Free"
  • Jazzyfatnastees - "I Don't Know"
  • Me'Shell

    N'degeocello - "Isolation"

  • Gil Scott-Heron - "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised"
  • K-Ci & JoJo - "One More Mountain"
  • Bob Dylan - "Hurricane"
  • Ray Charles - "Hard Times"
  • Etta James - "In the Basement"
  • Melky Sedeck - "Still I Rise"
  • Ruth Brown - "I Don't Know"
  • Clark Anderson - "So Amazing"
  • Christopher Young - "The Suite"

-- Sorelle Saidman