Black Sabbath Taps Megadeth, Slayer, Pantera, Soulfly For New Year's Eve Show As "Reunion" Hits Stores

While much about Black Sabbath's plans for the New Year's Eve launch of its reunion tour remains shrouded in mystery, the few details that have emerged point to a grand metal-fest type opening for the anticipated tour.

While speaking with MTV News on Monday, the band confirmed that the tour will kick off in Phoenix on December 31, and will feature a slew of special guests.

"I think the opening night there's a few bands," guitarist Tony Iommi told MTV News. "There's Megadeth and Slayer... who else? Soulfy, Pantera."

After the New Year's date, the band will hit the road with Pantera in tow as Sabbath makes the rounds in support of its live double album "Reunion," which hits stores this week and marks the first release from the original Black Sabbath line-up in 20 years.

While many of the details of the band's U.S. tour are still to be worked out, Sabbath frontman Ozzy Osbourne told MTV News that fans can expect plenty of the band's now legendary metal classics,

but nothing else.

"It'll be all vintage Sabbath stuff," Ozzy promised. "I've been asked along the way whether we're doing any of our various solo songs on the Black Sabbath reunion. There will be no solo music. It'll be just vintage Sabbath stuff from the time we were all together to the time we all separated. We're not gonna do any Ronnie James Dio songs and whatever. So it's just going to be vintage Sabbath, and I suppose by the reaction we had at the NEC in Birmingham to record this live album that's what they want to hear, you know." [28.8 RealVideo]

Ozzy will have much more so say when he turns up on MTV's new interview series "Revue" on Wednesday, October 21 at 10:30 p.m.

Meanwhile, the tracklisting of "Reunion," which was culled from that performance last December in Sabbath's hometown of Birmingham, England, probably gives fans a good idea of what they can expect when the band hits the road. Here's what

you'll find on "Reunion":

  • "War Pigs"
  • "Behind The Wall Of Sleep"
  • "N.I.B."
  • "Fairies Wear Boots"
  • "Electric Funeral"
  • "Sweet Leaf"
  • "Spiral Architect"
  • "Into The Void"
  • "Snowblind"
  • "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath"
  • "Orchid/Lord Of This World"
  • "Dirty Women"
  • "Black Sabbath"
  • "Iron Man"
  • "Children Of The Grave"
  • "Paranoid"
  • "Psycho Man" (new track)
  • "Selling My Soul" (new track)