Pixies Gone But Not Forgotten

October 10 [12:00 EDT] -- The legendary Pixies called it quits over four years ago, but they're still one of the most talked about groups in modern musical history, this week, it seems, more so than ever.

Tuesday marked the release of "Death to The Pixies," a 2-CD box set with one CD offering up a selection of the band's "greatest hits" from their recorded material on the 4AD label and the second containing a live show recorded in Holland in 1990.

"Death to the Pixies" marks the 10th anniversary of the band's first album, which followed a moment in history that saw frontman Black Francis and guitarist Joey Santiago place an ad in a local paper asking for players "into Hüsker Dü and Peter, Paul and Mary." The ad presumably caught the attention of future Breeder Kim Deal, and the rest -- including five acclaimed albums -- is history.

To mark the release of "Death to the Pixies" and to remember one of the most influential bands of the last 15 years, MTV

News Online will take a look back at the band in our feature of the week. We've pulled primo interviews and a classic live performance [Live in London, 1988, 1.1MB QuickTime] from the MTV archives, and amassed a feature that should give you at least some idea what all the fuss is about. You can check out these post-punk innovators who've been name-dropped by artists from Nirvana to David Bowie when our "Death to the Pixies" feature of the week launches on Friday afternoon.

If you'd rather get your Pixies the old fashioned way, here's what you'll find on "Death to the Pixies":

Disc One (studio tracks):
  • "Cecilia Ann"
  • "Planet Of Sound"
  • "Tame"
  • "Here Comes Your Man"
  • "Debaser"
  • "Wave Of Mutilation"
  • "Dig For Fire"
  • "Caribou"
  • "Holiday Song"
  • "Nimrod's Son"
  • "U-Mass"
  • "Bone Machine"
  • "Gigantic"
  • "Where Is My Mind?"
  • "Velouria"
  • "Gouge Away"
  • "Monkey

    Gone To Heaven"

Disc Two (recored live in Holland in 1990):
  • "Debasser"
  • "Rock Music"
  • "Broken Face"
  • "Isla La Enchanta"
  • "Hang Wire"
  • "Dead"
  • "Into The White"
  • "Monkey Gone To Heaven"
  • "Gouge Away"
  • "Here Comes Your Man"
  • "Allison"
  • "Hey"
  • "Gigantic"
  • "Crackity Jones"
  • "Something Against You"
  • "Tame"
  • "Wave Of Mutilation"
  • "Where Is My Mind?"
  • "Ed Is Dead"
  • "Vamos"
  • "Tony's Theme"