Wallflowers Added To Tibetan Concert As Daily Line-Ups Announced, Yauch Speaks Out On Ban

The Wallflowers have just been added to this year's Tibetan Freedom Concert, and organizers have finally nailed down the daily line-ups for the concert, although the exact order of performances won't be known until the day of the show.

On Saturday, June 13, Beck, Chaksam-Pa, Tracy Chapman, Herbie Hancock and the Headhunters, KRS-One, Live, Dave Matthews, Mutabaruka, Radiohead, R.E.M., Patti Smith and Sonic Youth are scheduled to perform.

On Sunday, June 14, A Tribe Called Quest, Beastie Boys, Blues Traveler, Buffalo Daughter, Wyclef Jean, Nawang Khechog, Kraftwerk, Sean Lennon, Luscious Jackson, Pearl Jam, Pulp, the Verve and the Wallflowers.

Meanwhile, Beastie Boy Adam Yauch has issued a statement responding to an ABC News report, which we first reported on last week, that the Chinese government had banned all of the scheduled Tibetan Concert performers from entering the country.

Yauch's statement


"This is a small example of the kind of thing that goes on all the time in China and Tibet. If they are trying to stop foreign minds, one can only imagine what they do within their own borders. Tibetan and Chinese people are tortured and killed on a regular basis for speaking their minds. This concert is a chance for us to bring the freedoms that we have to the Tibetan and Chinese people."

This year's Tibetan Freedom Concert will be held June 13 and 14 at RFK Stadium in Washington, DC.