Love And Rockets Return With "Lift"

Seminal gothic Brit-rockers Love and Rockets have just finished recording their seventh album, entitled "Lift," which will be released by Red Ant in either September or October. The first single from the new album, "Resurrection Hex," will be out to radio on May 19.

Produced by Doug DeAngelis, who has worked on past albums for New Order and the Pet Shop Boys, "Lift," reunites the ex-Bauhaus bandmates for their second album in a little over two years -- following 1996's "Sweet F.A." The trio of David J, Daniel Ash and Kevin Haskins enjoyed its greatest success with the 1989 album "Love and Rockets," which spawned the Top Five single "So Alive."

"Lift" also features a guest appearance by Jill Cunniff, Gabrielle Glaser and Kate Schellenbach of Luscious Jackson on one track, "Holy Fool." As we previously reported, (see "Vivian Trimble Quits Luscious Jackson"), Jackson keyboardist Trimble recently left the band to pursue other projects.

A spokesperson for Love and Rockets said that while the album had been completed, a final decision had not been made regarding the track's sequencing. The titles of the songs from "Lift" are:

  • "My Drug"
  • "Bad For You"
  • "Resume"
  • "Ghosts of the Multiple Feature"
  • "R.I.P."
  • "Lift"
  • "Delicious Queen"
  • "Deep Deep Down"
  • "Holy Fool"
  • "Too Much Choice"
  • "Pink Flamingo"
  • "Party's Not Over"

Love and Rockets will promote two or three singles prior to the actual release of "Lift," and while no videos are currently in the works, the band does plan to launch a tour by year's end.